Thu Dec 14

Glenn Miller Orchestra Christmas

Thu, December 14
7:30PM / $35
Choose Seats
Carlyle Club

2050 Ballenger Ave.
Alexandria, VA 22314

The Glenn Miller Orchestra

“A band ought to have a sound all of its own.  It ought to have a personality.” – Glenn Miller

The “Road Book” carried by the Glenn Miller Orchestra adds up to over 300 charts-many of them out of the original library. Today, the complete library totals over 1,700 compositions including all of the original charts from both the civilian band and the Army Air Force Band. Of course, all of the biggest hits are included in a regular program. But so are arrangements of less well-known tunes like The White Cliffs of Dover, Rainbow Rhapsody, Everybody Loves My Baby, and That’s Sabotage. The Miller library features contributions from many fine arrangers including Bill Finegan, Jerry Gray, Billy May, Mort Lindsay, Deane Kinkaide, Joe Cribari, and Dave Wolpe. They have added such numbers as Over the Rainbow, September Morn, The Body Electric from the T.V. series Fame, Up Where We Belong, from the hit movie, An Officer and a Gentleman, and Star Wars/War of The Stars. The Glenn Miller Orchestra has always been very musical, disciplined, and visually entertaining. And it has its own distinctive “sound." That sound is created by the clarinet holding the melodic line, doubled or coupled with the tenor sax playing the same notes; and the harmonies produced by three other saxophones, while growling trombones and wailing trumpets add their oo-ahs.

Visit Website
Watch Video

Thu, December 14

7:30PM / $35
Choose Seats
Upcoming Events

Thu, September 28, 8:00 PM

Live 24 presents a night with Marcus Anderson

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 29, 6:30 PM

Double Band Rumble

Get Tickets →

Tue, October 10, 8:00 PM

American Spirit

Get Tickets →

Wed, October 11, 8:00 PM

American Spirit

Get Tickets →

Thu, October 12, 8:00 PM

American Spirit

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 13, 8:00 PM

Comedy Supreme

Get Tickets →

Tue, October 17, 8:00 PM

American Spirit

Get Tickets →

Wed, October 18, 8:00 PM

American Spirit

Get Tickets →

Thu, October 19, 8:00 PM

American Spirit

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 20, 8:00 PM

American Spirit

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 22, 12:00 PM

The Vocal Workshop Showcase

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 22, 2:00 PM

The Vocal Workshop Showcase

Get Tickets →

Tue, October 24, 8:00 PM

American Spirit

Get Tickets →

Wed, October 25, 8:00 PM

American Spirit

Get Tickets →

Thu, October 26, 8:00 PM

American Spirit

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 29, 8:00 PM

American Spirit

Get Tickets →

Tue, October 31, 8:00 PM

American Spirit

Get Tickets →

Wed, November 1, 8:00 PM

American Spirit

Get Tickets →

Tue, November 7, 8:00 PM

American Spirit

Get Tickets →

Thu, November 23, 12:00 PM

Thanksgiving

Get Tickets →

Fri, November 24, 8:00 PM

Kickoff to Christmas with Doc Scantlin and his Imperial Palms Orchestra

Get Tickets →

Sat, November 25, 5:00 PM

A Motown Christmas

Get Tickets →

Sat, November 25, 8:00 PM

A Motown Christmas

Get Tickets →

Sun, November 26, 5:00 PM

A Motown Christmas

Get Tickets →

Sun, December 3, 1:30 PM

Christmas with Robert T and Friends

Get Tickets →

Sat, December 9, 9:00 AM

Breakfast with Santa

Get Tickets →

Tue, December 12, 7:30 PM

A Stan Kenton Christmas with Jazz Workshop Big Band

Get Tickets →

Wed, December 13, 7:30 PM

A Stan Kenton Christmas with Capital Bones Big Band with Lena Seikaly

Get Tickets →