Fri Nov 8

The Blackbyrds

Fri, November 8
8PM / $35
Get Tickets
Bethesda Blues & Jazz Supper Club

7719 Wisconsin Avenue
Bethesda, MD 20814

The Blackbyrds

The Blackbyrds are one of the most accomplished music bands ever from the Washington, DC area. They came together more than 40 years ago as Howard University students under the tutelage of their music professor, the late great jazz trumpeter Donald Byrd, who also became their manager and producer. They created a unique jazz funk sound combined with soulful harmonies that made a big impact on the music charts in the 1970s, with 10 top 40 R&B hits and several on the pop charts.

The Blackbyrds' biggest hit songs were "Walking In Rhythm", their Grammy nominated, million selling smash hit that received widespread airplay on several radio formats, peaking at #4 on the R&B chart and #6 on the pop chart; "Happy Music", an uplifting party anthem that was their biggest R&B hit at #3 and also #19 on the pop chart; and "Rock Creek Park", their most beloved song known by generations of music fans for its infectious groove and famous verse “doin’ it in the park, doin’ it after dark, oh yeah…Rock Creek Park!”  

The Blackbyrds are still touring around the world but they always look forward to performing in the DC area because they are most appreciated here. Their original core members are all from the DC area including bandleader Keith Killgo on drums, Joe Hall on bass and Orville Saunders on guitar, as well as longtime member Dave Robbins on keyboards. Their crowd pleasing performance features all of their most popular songs plus those by their late mentor Donald Byrd. 

Visit Website
Watch Video

Fri, November 8

8PM / $35
Get Tickets

Please note: There is a $20 food/beverage minimum per person not included in ticket price. You are buying tickets that are not refundable or exchangeable. Please review our additional purchase policies.

Upcoming Events

Mon, September 23, 7:00 PM

An Evening with Garrison Keillor, Heather Masse & Rich Dworsky

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 27, 8:00 PM

Salsa Night! - Tito Puente Jr. with Orquesta de Salsa & Nfuzion

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 28, 8:00 PM

Happy Birthday Cherie featuring Be'la Dona

Get Tickets →

Sun, September 29, 7:30 PM

Team Familiar featuring Donnell Floyd

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 4, 8:00 PM

Marcus Johnson CD Release Concert "Ballads: In My Voice"

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 5, 7:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 5, 10:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 6, 4:00 PM

Miriamm and EPW Turn Bethesda Blues & Jazz Pink!

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 11, 8:00 PM

The Brian McKnight 4

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 12, 8:00 PM

The Brian McKnight 4

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 13, 8:00 PM

Second Sunday: Art Sherrod Jr. feat. Ann Nesby (from Sounds of Blackness)

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 18, 8:00 PM

Stokley - A Single Release Concert Series

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 19, 7:00 PM

2nd Annual Northwestern & High Point Alumni Celebration of Life

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 20, 7:00 PM

An Evening with Phil Perry

Get Tickets →

Thu, October 24, 8:00 PM

Deborah Cox

Get Tickets →

Fri, November 1, 8:00 PM

Betty Wright

Get Tickets →

Sun, November 3, 7:00 PM

The Original Lakeside w/ Special Guest - Hosted by Mr. C's Time Tunnel

Get Tickets →

Sat, November 9, 8:00 PM

Cassandra Wilson

Get Tickets →

Sat, November 16, 8:00 PM

Tiffany

Get Tickets →

Sun, November 17, 7:00 PM

GP Promotions Presents Tribute to Barry White Featuring Jourdan Carroll

Get Tickets →

Fri, November 22, 8:00 PM

Chuck Brown Band

Get Tickets →

Sat, November 23, 8:00 PM

Mousey Thompson & The James Brown Experience

Get Tickets →

Wed, November 27, 8:00 PM

Rare Essence

Get Tickets →

Fri, November 29, 7:00 PM

Leela James

Get Tickets →

Fri, November 29, 10:00 PM

Leela James

Get Tickets →

Sat, November 30, 8:00 PM

Maze featuring Frankie Beverly - Up Close and Personal

Get Tickets →

Sun, December 1, 7:00 PM

Maze featuring Frankie Beverly - Up Close and Personal

Get Tickets →

Sun, December 8, 6:00 PM

Christmas with Maranda Curtis wsg Melvin Crispell III (Sunday Best winner)

Get Tickets →

Sat, December 14, 5:00 PM

Kenny Lattimore & Regina Belle - Christmas & Love Tour

Get Tickets →

Sat, December 14, 9:00 PM

Kenny Lattimore & Regina Belle - Christmas & Love Tour

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 8, 8:00 PM

The S.O.S Band

Get Tickets →