Wed May 2

Street Scenes: Sarah Hughes, Saxophonist

Wed, May 2
7PM / $18
Get Tickets
Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital

921 Pennsylvania Ave. SE
Washington, DC 20003

Sarah Hughes, Saxophonist

Hill Center is proud to introduce a new concert series, Street Scenes - a series focusing on new music composed by emerging DC jazz artists, curated by Burnett Thompson.

Alto saxophonist and composer Sarah Hughes brings her own voice and vision to the jazz and avant garde music spheres. Known for and an unapologetically personal approach to music, as well as mastery of the instrument, Sarah is a singular visionary in the Washington music scene. A graduate of the New England Conservatory, she brings music to her audience that appears to have no boundaries.  

In her own words, Sarah Hughes is offering “an expression of the feeling of having a head full of heavy thoughts that churn, froth, and bubble out in the form of giggles, gibberish, gargles, screams, cries, sirens, prayers, and whooping calls.”

Wed, May 2

7PM / $18
Get Tickets
Upcoming Events

Sun, October 22, 4:00 PM

Davis & Crawford: A Fabulous Rivalry "A Woman's Face"

Get Tickets →

Mon, October 23, 7:00 PM

The Life of a Poet: Conversations with Ron Charles - Dawn Lundy Martin

Get Tickets →

Tue, October 24, 6:30 PM

Kitchen 101: Knife Skills

Get Tickets →

Wed, October 25, 7:00 PM

Talk of the Hill with Bill Press: Alice Waters

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 27, 6:30 PM

Pottery on the Hill Preview Reception - October 27

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 28, 10:59 PM

Pottery on the Hill Show & Sale

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 29, 10:59 PM

Pottery on the Hill Show & Sale

Get Tickets →

Mon, October 30, 7:00 PM

Kitchen 101: Sausage Making

Get Tickets →

Tue, October 31, 10:30 AM

Kids Euro Fest: Power of Poetry

Get Tickets →

Thu, November 2, 7:00 PM

Street Scenes: Nicole Saphos, Bassist/Vocalist

Get Tickets →

Thu, November 2, 7:00 PM

The Whole Beast: Curing Meat & Fish

Get Tickets →

Sat, November 4, 11:00 AM

Holiday Workshop: Freezable Appetizers

Get Tickets →

Sat, November 4, 3:00 PM

European Short Films from Kids Euro Fest!

Get Tickets →

Sun, November 5, 10:00 AM

Walking Tour: Marching Along with John Philip Sousa

Get Tickets →

Sun, November 5, 11:00 AM

Holiday Workshop: Make-Ahead Casseroles & Comfort Food

Get Tickets →

Sun, November 5, 3:00 PM

EAST Workshop: Improv

Get Tickets →

Sun, November 5, 4:00 PM

Davis & Crawford: A Fabulous Rivalry "In this Our Life"

Get Tickets →

Tue, November 7, 7:00 PM

Street Food: Dumplings

Get Tickets →

Thu, November 9, 7:00 PM

Chef's Table with Chef Gérard Pangaud

Get Tickets →

Sat, November 11, 11:00 AM

Master Class: Greek with Kapnos' George Pagonis

Get Tickets →

Sun, November 12, 4:00 PM

Davis & Crawford: A Fabulous Rivalry "Mildred Pierce"

Get Tickets →

Mon, November 13, 7:30 PM

Overbeck Lecture: Looking at the L'Enfant Plan in a New Light

Get Tickets →

Tue, November 14, 7:00 PM

Let's Talk About Your Family: A Seminar on Parenting and Adoption

Get Tickets →

Wed, November 15, 7:00 PM

Talk of the Hill with Bill Press: Mayor Muriel Bowser

Get Tickets →

Wed, November 15, 7:00 PM

The Whole Beast: Duck Boot Camp

Get Tickets →

Thu, November 16, 7:00 PM

Artist Lecture: Northern Mississippi with Michael Ford

Get Tickets →

Sat, November 18, 11:00 AM

The Art of French Cooking with Chef Gérard Pangaud

Get Tickets →

Sat, November 18, 1:00 PM

Contemporary Watercolors

Get Tickets →

Mon, November 20, 7:00 PM

On the Cooling Rack with Erica Skolnik: Thanksgiving Pies - Nov. 20

Get Tickets →

Tue, November 28, 7:30 PM

All Politics is Local with Tom Sherwood & Mark Segraves: Doreen Gentzler

Get Tickets →

Wed, November 29, 7:00 PM

The Life of a Poet: Conversations with Ron Charles - Rae Armantrout

Get Tickets →