Sat Aug 19

Dred Scott Trio & Tom Scott

Sat, August 19
8:30PM / $20
Get Tickets
Nighttown

12387 Cedar Road
Cleveland Heights, OH 44106

Dred Scott Trio + Tom Scott

Cutting Edge NYC based pianist and NE Ohio Native brings his East Coast Based Trio to Nighttown.

Featuring: Dred Scott-piano, Ben Rubin-bass, & Diego Voglino-drums.
Special Guest Opening Act: Tom Scott (Dred's Brother)-piano and vocals.

"The compositions and performances balance heady modernism with accessibility, demonstrating a cheeky playfulness in the process. We need to hear more from this strong, distinct voice." sharrone cohen JAZZ TIMES

Dred Scott Trio (Tuesday) This longtime working band, led by the sly pianist-raconteur Dred Scott, recently released “Going Nowhere” (Ropeadope), a good showcase for its puckish but aggressive take on postbop aerodynamics. The trio’s acclaimed weekly residency here has ended, after a productive six years — but this one-nighter kicks off a new one, the last Tuesday of every month. nate chinen, NEW YORK TIMES

The Dred Scott Trio gives off an intimate, anything-can-happen vibe...sometimes swinging hard and sometimes careening out of control. The feeling of ramshackle spontaneity...is something of a front for sophisticated, multi-segmented piano trio compositions. Philip Booth, RELIX

“Pianist Dred Scott uses an irreverent veneer to disguise old-fashioned jazz scholarship, which buttresses his rich, well-rounded intonation and flair for phrasing.” brit robson EMUSIC

“The hard-swinging group never gets too deep, which might actually be a good thing: Their music has the buoyant groove of gospel and the charming shuffle of the Big Easy on parade.” NEW YORK MAGAZINE

Visit Website
Watch Video

Sat, August 19

8:30PM / $20
Get Tickets

No need to make an additional table reservation - it's already included with these concert tickets!! You are buying tickets that are not refundable or exchangeable. Please review our additional terms and conditions.

Upcoming Events

Tue, August 22, 7:00 PM

Diego Figueiredo

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 24, 8:00 PM

Ben Sidran featuring Richie Cole

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 25, 8:30 PM

Ben Sidran featuring Richie Cole

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 26, 8:30 PM

Dave Stryker Organ Quartet featuring Mike Lee

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 27, 7:00 PM

Elijah Gilmore Quintet

Get Tickets →

Wed, August 30, 7:00 PM

Jason Marsalis & 21st Century Trad Band

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 31, 8:00 PM

Moises Borges

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 1, 8:30 PM

Sammy DeLeon Latin Jazz Sextet

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 2, 8:30 PM

Gretje Angell

Get Tickets →

Wed, September 6, 7:00 PM

Jaerv

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 9, 8:30 PM

Hubb's Groove - Tribute to Natalie Cole

Get Tickets →

Wed, September 13, 7:00 PM

Loren and Mark

Get Tickets →

Thu, September 14, 8:00 PM

Tracy Marie & David Mayfield w/guest Maddie Finn

Get Tickets →

Sun, September 17, 3:00 PM

Jake Boland

Get Tickets →

Sun, September 17, 7:00 PM

Nicki Parrott Trio featuring John DiMartino, & Ken Peplowski

Get Tickets →

Mon, September 18, 7:00 PM

Nicki Parrott Trio featuring John DiMartino, & Ken Peplowski

Get Tickets →

Thu, September 21, 7:30 PM

Drew Schultz & the Broken Habits

Get Tickets →

Thu, September 21, 8:00 PM

Amanda Walsh & Rick Szekelyi CD Release Event

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 22, 8:30 PM

A.J. Croce

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 23, 8:30 PM

Sam Hooper Group

Get Tickets →

Sun, September 24, 7:00 PM

Maria Jacobs

Get Tickets →

Wed, September 27, 7:00 PM

Vicky Chew

Get Tickets →

Thu, September 28, 8:00 PM

Hot Club of San Francisco

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 29, 8:30 PM

Glenn Davis Quintet featuring Evelyn Wright

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 30, 8:30 PM

Eddie Baccus Sr. Quintet + Special Guests

Get Tickets →

Thu, October 5, 8:00 PM

Vanessa Rubin / Don Braden Organ Quintet

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 7, 8:30 PM

Antoinette Tredanary

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 13, 8:30 PM

Nellie McKay

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 14, 8:30 PM

Nellie McKay

Get Tickets →