Tue Mar 3

Westbound Situation

Tue, March 3
7PM / $15
Get Tickets
Nighttown

12387 Cedar Road
Cleveland Heights, OH 44106

Westbound Situation

From Ann Arbor!  4 Pc. String Group combines Chamber Music, Bluegrass, Jazz, & Folk for unique "Chambergrass" Sound!

Featuring: Grant Flick-violin, Zach Brown-cello, Matt Davis-banjo, & Jacob Warren-bass.

Westbound Situation blends the precision of classical chamber music, the rhythmic drive of bluegrass, and the colorful expression of jazz into a new style of chamber music—chambergrass. The quartet—comprised of Grant Flick on violin, Matthew Davis on banjo, Zach Brown on cello, and Jacob Warren on bass—mixes composition and improvisation seamlessly into their entirely memorized arrangements.

The group formed out of the 2016 Acoustic Music Seminar (AMS), a program run by multi-instrumentalist Mike Marshall. The program accepts 16 talented string players under the age of 22 from around the world to participate in a week of intense improvisation, composition and performance training. All four were two-time participants, an honor that not everyone is able to receive. Some notable AMS alumni include Paul Kowert of the Punch Brothers, Alex Hargreaves of Turtle Island String Quartet, and Xavier Foley, winner of the 2014 Sphinx Competition.

Westbound Situation has a strong commitment to music education. The group’s combined experience in classical, bluegrass, jazz, and original/improvised music is something not typically offered in the standard curriculum found at most schools and colleges (at least not all at the same time). These styles, among others, give each student the chance to make their own music, and through this process valuable lessons in creativity, listening, and leadership are achieved. Each member of the group maintains a private studio, and all have been invited to provide workshops and masterclasses at schools and festivals across the country.

Westbound Situation’s exciting and diverse concerts feature a set of unique original repertoire colored with recognizable standards from many genres. With bluegrass, classical chamber music, and jazz all coming together in the group’s concept of chambergrass, a Westbound Situation concert is a dazzling musical journey not soon forgotten.

Visit Website
Watch Video

Tue, March 3

7PM / $15
Get Tickets

No need to make an additional table reservation - it's already included with these concert tickets!! You are buying tickets that are not refundable or exchangeable. Please review our additional terms and conditions.

Upcoming Events

Thu, February 20, 7:00 PM

Dominick Farinacci & Spirit of the Groove

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 21, 8:30 PM

Forecast

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 22, 8:30 PM

Alice Blumenfeld - ABREPASO's Tablao Flamenco

Get Tickets →

Mon, February 24, 7:00 PM

Baldwin Wallace Musical Theatre

Get Tickets →

Tue, February 25, 7:30 PM

Jiggs Whigham & Friends

Get Tickets →

Wed, February 26, 7:00 PM

Ethnic Heritage Ensemble

Get Tickets →

Thu, February 27, 8:00 PM

Lionel Loueke

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 28, 8:30 PM

Eric Everett Jazz Quintet featuring Charlene Smythe

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 29, 7:00 PM

Cyrille Aimée

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 29, 7:30 PM

Neil's Leap Year Dance Party!

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 29, 9:00 PM

Cyrille Aimée

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 1, 11:00 AM

"A Musical Feast" - Benefit for Cleveland Hts High School Band & Orchestra

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 1, 7:00 PM

Debi Lewin "Marquis Showcase"

Get Tickets →

Mon, March 2, 7:00 PM

Hudson HS Big Band

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 6, 8:30 PM

Nanny & Dani Assis Brazilian Sextet + Moises Borges

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 7, 7:00 PM

Bill Rudman's "Seize the Day"

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 8, 2:00 PM

Bill Rudman's "Seize the Day"

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 8, 7:00 PM

Newberry & Verch

Get Tickets →

Thu, March 12, 8:00 PM

Joe Hunter & Pete Cavano

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 13, 8:30 PM

Gerald Skillern w/David Thomas Trio

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 14, 8:30 PM

Tim Lekan plays Cole Porter Featuring Celine Opdycke

Get Tickets →

Mon, March 16, 7:00 PM

Disney @ Nighttown - Baldwin Wallace Musical Theater

Get Tickets →

Tue, March 17, 1:00 PM

St Patrick's Day with The New Barleycorn

Get Tickets →

Tue, March 17, 5:30 PM

St Patrick's Day with The New Barleycorn

Get Tickets →

Tue, March 17, 8:00 PM

St Patrick's Day with The New Barleycorn

Get Tickets →

Wed, March 18, 7:00 PM

Chip Stephens / Glenn Wilson Duo

Get Tickets →

Thu, March 19, 8:00 PM

Howie Smith & Organ Ism

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 20, 8:30 PM

Beatles Tribute w/ Hard Day's Night

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 21, 8:30 PM

Beatles Tribute w/ Hard Day's Night

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 22, 7:00 PM

Dominick Farinacci "Spirit of the Groove"

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 27, 8:30 PM

JazzWorks

Get Tickets →