Wed Jan 23

Randie Shane & Jonathan Hooper Trio "Night at the Oscars"

Wed, January 23
7PM / $10
Get Tickets
Nighttown

12387 Cedar Road
Cleveland Heights, OH 44106

Randie Shane & Jonathan Hooper Trio "Night at the

Jazz and Cabaret from Exciting North Coast Vocalist featuring Music from the Great Hollywood Soundtracks!

Featuring: Randie Shane-vocals, Jonathan Hooper-piano, Dan Bruce-guitar, & Aidan Plank-acoustic bass.

Randie Shane has sung in Broadway tours like "Swing! The Musical" and on New York cabaret stages such as The Duplex and Metropolitan Room. This is her third appearance at Nighttown. Randie's voice is warm and versatile, and conveys deep emotion - a perfect match for a night that blends jazz and the movies.

Jonathan Hooper is a Cleveland native who has been playing piano for over twenty years, having begun classical study at age five. While attending college in Florida for graphic design, he taught himself the basics of jazz piano. His love of listening and his natural ear allowed him to develop proficiency in the language of jazz.

Jonathan performed for two years as a house pianist and vocalist at a piano bar in St. Augustine, Florida. More recently, he studied for two years via webcam with Dave Frank, one of New York City’s top jazz pianists and former student of the legendary Lennie Tristano.  Jonathan has appeared with various ensembles at Nighttown, BOP STOP, BLU Jazz+, and other Northeast Ohio venues. His piano-guitar-bass trio with Dan and Aidan performs every third Saturday at Hyde Park Steakhouse in Beachwood.

Dan Bruce is a recent transplant to Ohio after spending a decade as an important member of Chicago’s jazz community. He is active throughout the Midwest and nationally as a performer, recording artist, composer and educator. He has performed on more than twenty albums as a sideman, and just released, Earthshine, his second album as leader in late 2017. As a performer and recording artist, Bruce has had the opportunity to work with a number of eminent musicians including Seamus Blake, Ali Jackson, Dan Wall, Lynn Seaton, and The Cleveland Jazz Orchestra.

Aidan Plank is a bassist living in Northern Ohio. He currently serves as bassist for the Cleveland Jazz Orchestra, Jazzworks, Nous, and plays in a duo with the guitarist Daniel Lippel. Aidan’s own ensemble, Pulse, explores original compositions by its members as well as a diverse range of music composed by well-known and obscure jazz composers.

As an educator Aidan serves as the jazz bass instructor at Kent State University and at Cuyahoga County Community College’s “Jazz Prep Program”. Aidan has also served as a clinician and adjudicator at the Maplerock Jazz Festival (2016) at Ashland University and at the Lakeland Jazz Festival at Lakeland Jazz Festival (2018) at Lakeland Community College.

 

Visit Website

Wed, January 23

7PM / $10
Get Tickets

No need to make an additional table reservation - it's already included with these concert tickets!! You are buying tickets that are not refundable or exchangeable. Please review our additional terms and conditions.

Upcoming Events

Fri, January 18, 8:30 PM

Gene Bertoncini Trio

Get Tickets →

Sat, January 19, 8:30 PM

Hubb's Groove "Tribute to Angela Bofill & Phyllis Hyman"

Get Tickets →

Sun, January 20, 7:00 PM

Herb Wilborn Quartet

Get Tickets →

Thu, January 24, 8:00 PM

Dominick Farinacci & Friends

Get Tickets →

Fri, January 25, 8:30 PM

Badi Assad

Get Tickets →

Sat, January 26, 8:30 PM

Benito Gonzalez International Trio (Tribute to McCoy Tyner)

Get Tickets →

Sun, January 27, 7:00 PM

Benito Gonzalez & Jackie Warren

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 1, 8:30 PM

Diego Figueiredo & Camille Bertault

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 2, 8:30 PM

Diego Figueiredo & Camille Bertault

Get Tickets →

Mon, February 4, 6:00 PM

The Legendary Count Basie Orchestra

Get Tickets →

Mon, February 4, 8:00 PM

The Legendary Count Basie Orchestra

Get Tickets →

Tue, February 5, 7:00 PM

Beppe Gambetta

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 8, 8:30 PM

Marcus Johnson

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 9, 7:30 PM

Nellie McKay - Benefiting Planned Parenthood of Greater Ohio

Get Tickets →

Sun, February 10, 7:00 PM

Rory Block

Get Tickets →

Tue, February 12, 7:00 PM

Jackie Warren Trio

Get Tickets →

Wed, February 13, 7:00 PM

Nellie McKay

Get Tickets →

Thu, February 14, 8:00 PM

Nellie McKay

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 16, 8:30 PM

Sugar Mountain "The Ultimate Neil Young Tribute"

Get Tickets →

Sun, February 17, 7:00 PM

Tim Lekan Quartet

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 22, 8:00 PM

Hubb's Groove Tribute to Aretha Franklin

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 22, 10:00 PM

Hubb's Groove Tribute to Aretha Franklin

Get Tickets →

Sun, February 24, 7:00 PM

Dominick Farinacci - "Spirit of the Groove"

Get Tickets →

Mon, February 25, 7:00 PM

Baldwin Wallace Musical Theatre Color-Full Cabaret

Get Tickets →

Wed, February 27, 7:00 PM

Eric Everett Jazz Quintet featuring Charlene Smythe

Get Tickets →

Thu, February 28, 8:00 PM

Grant Green Jr. featuring Mike Clark

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 1, 8:30 PM

Grant Green Jr. featuring Mike Clark

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 2, 7:00 PM

Special EFX featuring Chieli Minucci

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 2, 9:00 PM

Special EFX featuring Chieli Minucci

Get Tickets →