Thu Nov 2

Street Scenes: Nicole Saphos, Bassist/Vocalist

Thu, November 2
7PM / $18
Get Tickets
Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital

921 Pennsylvania Ave. SE
Washington, DC 20003

Nicole Saphos, Bassist/Vocalist

Hill Center is proud to introduce a new concert series, Street Scenes - a series focusing on new music composed by emerging DC jazz artists, curated by Burnett Thompson.

Nicole Saphos has performed at such venerated venues as The Kennedy Center, Lincoln Center, Strathmore Mansion and The Kimmel Center. Since 2012 she has led her own trio, which has coalesced around drummer Ele Rubenstein and guitarist John Lee. Saphos recently released her debut album, Tiptoe, a collection of imaginatively arranged standards and originals organized around a journey of personal revelation.

"Saphos has an impressive rapport with her trio and a creative attitude towards her music that leads her to create a uniquely hazy and funky ambiance.”  -All About Jazz

Doors open at 7pm. Join us for a post-concert wine reception with the artist. 

Thu, November 2

7PM / $18
Get Tickets
Upcoming Events

Sun, October 22, 4:00 PM

Davis & Crawford: A Fabulous Rivalry "A Woman's Face"

Get Tickets →

Mon, October 23, 7:00 PM

The Life of a Poet: Conversations with Ron Charles - Dawn Lundy Martin

Get Tickets →

Tue, October 24, 6:30 PM

Kitchen 101: Knife Skills

Get Tickets →

Wed, October 25, 7:00 PM

Talk of the Hill with Bill Press: Alice Waters

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 27, 6:30 PM

Pottery on the Hill Preview Reception - October 27

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 28, 10:59 PM

Pottery on the Hill Show & Sale

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 29, 10:59 PM

Pottery on the Hill Show & Sale

Get Tickets →

Mon, October 30, 7:00 PM

Kitchen 101: Sausage Making

Get Tickets →

Tue, October 31, 10:30 AM

Kids Euro Fest: Power of Poetry

Get Tickets →

Thu, November 2, 7:00 PM

The Whole Beast: Curing Meat & Fish

Get Tickets →

Sat, November 4, 11:00 AM

Holiday Workshop: Freezable Appetizers

Get Tickets →

Sat, November 4, 3:00 PM

European Short Films from Kids Euro Fest!

Get Tickets →

Sun, November 5, 10:00 AM

Walking Tour: Marching Along with John Philip Sousa

Get Tickets →

Sun, November 5, 11:00 AM

Holiday Workshop: Make-Ahead Casseroles & Comfort Food

Get Tickets →

Sun, November 5, 3:00 PM

EAST Workshop: Improv

Get Tickets →

Sun, November 5, 4:00 PM

Davis & Crawford: A Fabulous Rivalry "In this Our Life"

Get Tickets →

Tue, November 7, 7:00 PM

Street Food: Dumplings

Get Tickets →

Thu, November 9, 7:00 PM

Chef's Table with Chef Gérard Pangaud

Get Tickets →

Sat, November 11, 11:00 AM

Master Class: Greek with Kapnos' George Pagonis

Get Tickets →

Sun, November 12, 4:00 PM

Davis & Crawford: A Fabulous Rivalry "Mildred Pierce"

Get Tickets →

Mon, November 13, 7:30 PM

Overbeck Lecture: Looking at the L'Enfant Plan in a New Light

Get Tickets →

Tue, November 14, 7:00 PM

Let's Talk About Your Family: A Seminar on Parenting and Adoption

Get Tickets →

Wed, November 15, 7:00 PM

Talk of the Hill with Bill Press: Mayor Muriel Bowser

Get Tickets →

Wed, November 15, 7:00 PM

The Whole Beast: Duck Boot Camp

Get Tickets →

Thu, November 16, 7:00 PM

Artist Lecture: Northern Mississippi with Michael Ford

Get Tickets →

Sat, November 18, 11:00 AM

The Art of French Cooking with Chef Gérard Pangaud

Get Tickets →

Sat, November 18, 1:00 PM

Contemporary Watercolors

Get Tickets →

Mon, November 20, 7:00 PM

On the Cooling Rack with Erica Skolnik: Thanksgiving Pies - Nov. 20

Get Tickets →

Tue, November 28, 7:30 PM

All Politics is Local with Tom Sherwood & Mark Segraves: Doreen Gentzler

Get Tickets →

Wed, November 29, 7:00 PM

The Life of a Poet: Conversations with Ron Charles - Rae Armantrout

Get Tickets →

Sat, December 2, 11:00 AM

The Art of French Cooking with Chef Gérard Pangaud

Get Tickets →