Mon Jun 17

Vezhlivy Otkaz

Mon, June 17
7PM / $20
Get Tickets
Nighttown

12387 Cedar Road
Cleveland Heights, OH 44106

Vezhlivy Otkaz

From Moscow, Russia!   Vezhlivy Otkaz  Translates as"Polite Refusal".
Cutting Edge Trio formed in 1985 combine Jazz, Rock, and Original Conceptions for unique blend Live on the Nighttown Stage!

Featuring: Roman Suslov-vocals & guitar, Dmitry Shumilov-bass. & Mikhail Mitin-drums.

Vezhlivy Otkaz, which means “polite refusal”, is one of the most original bands in Russia pushing the boundaries of art-rock and combining eccentricity and discipline. It was formed in 1985 with a then-popular reggae/ska blend and went on to boldly challenge both political and musical conventions in the orthodoxy of then-Soviet and now-Russia's official art ethos. 

Far from where they started, VO has gone through numerous stylistic changes, flirting with everything from free jazz to art-core and Russian folk. Their sound, however, has always been unique and immediately recognizable. Roman Suslov’s rhythmic guitar work and unusual vocals gives VO’s music a precisely constructed, crystal-clear sound that is completely devoid of any of the extra noise so typical of rock music at large.

These uniquely important veterans of the historic musical rebellion in Russia will perform as a power trio on their second tour of the U.S. 

Visit Website
Watch Video

Mon, June 17

7PM / $20
Get Tickets

No need to make an additional table reservation - it's already included with these concert tickets!! You are buying tickets that are not refundable or exchangeable. Please review our additional terms and conditions.

Upcoming Events

Thu, May 23, 8:00 PM

Leo Blanco All-Star International Trio

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 24, 8:30 PM

Sammy DeLeon Latin Jazz Sextet

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 25, 8:30 PM

Hubb's Groove "The Vibe is Right" w/Lem Adams & Cecil Rucker

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 26, 6:30 PM

Club Neilism's Dance Party

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 26, 7:00 PM

Dominick Farinacci"Spirit of the Groove"

Get Tickets →

Tue, May 28, 7:00 PM

Richard Smith & Pete Cavano

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 1, 8:30 PM

Moises Borges

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 2, 7:00 PM

Lexi Weege and The Wonder Twins

Get Tickets →

Tue, June 4, 7:00 PM

David Murray & Kahil El'Zabar Duo

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 7, 8:30 PM

Doug Macleod

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 8, 12:00 PM

Doug MacLeod Guitar Clinic

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 8, 8:30 PM

Forecast

Get Tickets →

Tue, June 11, 7:00 PM

Max Bessesen Quartet

Get Tickets →

Wed, June 12, 7:30 PM

Bobby Sanabria Trio w/Jackie Warren & Peter Dominguez

Get Tickets →

Thu, June 13, 8:00 PM

Ricky Exton's Octo Jazz

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 15, 8:30 PM

Horns & Things

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 16, 7:00 PM

Eddie Baccus Sr. & Jr.

Get Tickets →

Tue, June 18, 7:00 PM

Ragtime Cast Preview

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 21, 8:00 PM

Cleveland Jazz Orchestra

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 23, 7:00 PM

Pete Cavano & Joe Hunter

Get Tickets →

Tue, June 25, 7:00 PM

Peter Asher & Jeremy Clyde

Get Tickets →

Thu, June 27, 7:00 PM

Peter Asher & Jeremy Clyde

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 28, 7:00 PM

John Pizzarelli Trio

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 28, 9:00 PM

John Pizzarelli Trio

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 29, 7:00 PM

John Pizzarelli Trio

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 29, 9:00 PM

John Pizzarelli Trio

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 30, 12:00 PM

Diego Figueiredo & Jeff Hamilton Duo

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 13, 8:30 PM

Sam Hooper Group

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 15, 7:00 PM

Jeremy Clyde

Get Tickets →