Thu Apr 26

Mike Phillips

Thu, April 26
8PM / $35
Get Tickets
Bethesda Blues & Jazz Supper Club

7719 Wisconsin Avenue
Bethesda, MD 20814

Mike Phillips

“I was offstage, listening to Michael Phillips take his solo. I was thinking ‘Wow, listen to those people responding, and all he’s doing is playing a saxophone.’ They can feel that what he’s doing is real. So many shows now…they are so dead. But here’s one manbreathing into an instrument, and the whole room feels alive. It made me want to rise up to that level when I came back onstage.” ---Prince, Rolling Stone, 5/27/04

World renowned saxophonist Mike Phillips is known as one of the most electrifying instrumentalists today.  Mike is the first non-athlete signed by Michael Jordan to the Nike Jordan Brand, home of the Air Jordan,and is the only musician in the world to have recorded and toured with the legendary “Big Three” of American soul and pop music: Michael Jackson, Prince, and Stevie Wonder.

Mike toured for nearly two years as part of the band for ‘Michael Jackson The IMMORTAL Tour’ by Cirque du Soleil. And music superstar Prince knew what audiences around the world know… when Mike Phillips puts his saxophone to his lips, magic is about to happen.

Prince once quoted “I was offstage, listening to Michael Phillips take his solo. I was thinking ‘Wow, listen to those people responding, and all he’s doing is playing a saxophone.’ They can feel that what he’s doing is real. So many shows now…they are so dead. But here’s one man breathing into an instrument, and the whole room feels alive. It made me want to rise up to that level when I came back onstage.” Prince, Rolling Stone, 5/27/04

Phillips is no stranger to the professional sports world, ashis version of the National Anthem during the 2016 NFC Championship game sent shockwaves all over the NFL deemed one of the best anthems ever done instrumentally and now is known as the “SAXTHEM”. 

Mike has played three (3) halftime NFL shows with various artists and served as Music Director for the Super Bowl Gospel Celebration for two (2) consecutive years. Phillips also served as Musical Director and Host of the popular BET program Lyric Café.  Mike Phillips’ other television performances have included the Grammys, the Soul Train Awards and as host of his own show Mikes Worldon BET network channel Centric which thrilled millions of viewers.

Mike's solo albums “You Reached Mike Phillips”, “Uncommon Denominator” and “MP3”, all debuted in the Top #5 on the Billboard Contemporary Jazz Charts.  His new album “Pulling Off The Covers” is due for release March 2018 on Shanachie records. 

 

You can join the Mike Phillips’ social family via:

Official Website: www.ThisIsMikePhillips,

Facebook: @mikephillipsfan, 

Instagram: www.instagram.com/mike_phillips/.

 

Thu, April 26

8PM / $35
Get Tickets
Upcoming Events

Sat, April 21, 8:00 PM

Freddy Cole w/ Bethesda Blues & Jazz Youth Orchestra Fundraiser

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 22, 2:00 PM

Freddy Cole

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 22, 8:00 PM

Kim Jordan's "Tribute To Gil Scott Heron" A Musical Exposé

Get Tickets →

Mon, April 23, 10:59 PM

Private Event

Get Tickets →

Wed, April 25, 8:00 PM

Greg Cooper's Tribute To Soul Legends with Mousey Thompson

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 27, 8:00 PM

Conya Doss feat Lin Rountree

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 28, 10:59 PM

PRIVATE EVENT

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 29, 7:30 PM

Melba Moore

Get Tickets →

Wed, May 2, 8:00 PM

Jazzy Blu

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 3, 8:00 PM

Jody Watley and SRL

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 5, 7:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 5, 10:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 6, 7:30 PM

Millie Jackson w/ Special Guest: Full Power Blues Band

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 10, 8:00 PM

Beegie Adair Trio featuring Monica Ramey

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 11, 8:00 PM

The Swon Brothers

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 12, 7:00 PM

Stokley of Mint Condition

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 12, 10:00 PM

BY POPULAR DEMAND 10pm SHOW ADDED: Stokley of Mint Condition

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 13, 1:00 PM

Mother's Day with Regina Belle

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 13, 6:00 PM

Mother's Day with Regina Belle

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 17, 8:00 PM

Eddie Levert of the O'Jays

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 19, 10:59 PM

PRIVATE EVENT

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 20, 8:00 PM

Vivian Green

Get Tickets →

Tue, May 22, 7:30 PM

B-CC HS Jazz Ensemble and the MCPS Faculty Big Band

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 24, 10:59 PM

PRIVATE EVENT

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 25, 8:00 PM

Macy Gray

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 27, 8:00 PM

Trent Tomlinson

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 1, 8:00 PM

Stephanie Quayle

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 3, 8:00 PM

Rare Essence

Get Tickets →

Tue, June 5, 8:00 PM

Midge Ure and Paul Young

Get Tickets →

Thu, June 7, 8:00 PM

An Evening with Jesse Colin Young and Band

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 8, 8:00 PM

An Evening with Jesse Colin Young and Band

Get Tickets →