Thu Apr 26

Mike Phillips

Thu, April 26
8PM / $35
Get Tickets
Bethesda Blues & Jazz Supper Club

7719 Wisconsin Avenue
Bethesda, MD 20814

Mike Phillips

“I was offstage, listening to Michael Phillips take his solo. I was thinking ‘Wow, listen to those people responding, and all he’s doing is playing a saxophone.’ They can feel that what he’s doing is real. So many shows now…they are so dead. But here’s one manbreathing into an instrument, and the whole room feels alive. It made me want to rise up to that level when I came back onstage.” ---Prince, Rolling Stone, 5/27/04

World renowned saxophonist Mike Phillips is known as one of the most electrifying instrumentalists today.  Mike is the first non-athlete signed by Michael Jordan to the Nike Jordan Brand, home of the Air Jordan,and is the only musician in the world to have recorded and toured with the legendary “Big Three” of American soul and pop music: Michael Jackson, Prince, and Stevie Wonder.

Mike toured for nearly two years as part of the band for ‘Michael Jackson The IMMORTAL Tour’ by Cirque du Soleil. And music superstar Prince knew what audiences around the world know… when Mike Phillips puts his saxophone to his lips, magic is about to happen.

Prince once quoted “I was offstage, listening to Michael Phillips take his solo. I was thinking ‘Wow, listen to those people responding, and all he’s doing is playing a saxophone.’ They can feel that what he’s doing is real. So many shows now…they are so dead. But here’s one man breathing into an instrument, and the whole room feels alive. It made me want to rise up to that level when I came back onstage.” Prince, Rolling Stone, 5/27/04

Phillips is no stranger to the professional sports world, ashis version of the National Anthem during the 2016 NFC Championship game sent shockwaves all over the NFL deemed one of the best anthems ever done instrumentally and now is known as the “SAXTHEM”. 

Mike has played three (3) halftime NFL shows with various artists and served as Music Director for the Super Bowl Gospel Celebration for two (2) consecutive years. Phillips also served as Musical Director and Host of the popular BET program Lyric Café.  Mike Phillips’ other television performances have included the Grammys, the Soul Train Awards and as host of his own show Mikes Worldon BET network channel Centric which thrilled millions of viewers.

Mike's solo albums “You Reached Mike Phillips”, “Uncommon Denominator” and “MP3”, all debuted in the Top #5 on the Billboard Contemporary Jazz Charts.  His new album “Pulling Off The Covers” is due for release March 2018 on Shanachie records. 

 

You can join the Mike Phillips’ social family via:

Official Website: www.ThisIsMikePhillips,

Facebook: @mikephillipsfan, 

Instagram: www.instagram.com/mike_phillips/.

 

Thu, April 26

8PM / $35
Get Tickets
Upcoming Events

Thu, February 22, 8:00 PM

Daryl Davis Presents The Magical Mystery Girls

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 23, 8:00 PM

Tribute To Funk Legends w/ The Craig Alston Syndicate

Get Tickets →

Sun, February 25, 1:00 PM

Be'la Dona Go Go Brunch

Get Tickets →

Sun, February 25, 7:30 PM

Band Of Roses

Get Tickets →

Wed, February 28, 8:00 PM

Billy Ocean Celebrates BBJ's 5th Anniversary Hosted By Joe Clair

Get Tickets →

Thu, March 1, 8:00 PM

Billy Ocean Celebrates BBJ's 5th Anniversary Hosted By Joe Clair

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 2, 8:00 PM

Bernard EBB Songwriting Awards

Buy Tickets →

Sat, March 3, 7:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 3, 10:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 4, 2:00 PM

Harold Melvin's Blue Notes

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 4, 7:30 PM

Harold Melvin's Blue Notes

Get Tickets →

Wed, March 7, 8:00 PM

Cedrick Napoleon and Brian Leniar

Get Tickets →

Thu, March 8, 8:00 PM

Jon Carroll & Special Guest Cecily

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 9, 8:00 PM

Celebrating the Life of Notorious B.I.G feat. Secret Society

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 11, 8:00 PM

A Tribute To The Music of Phyllis Hyman

Get Tickets →

Thu, March 15, 8:00 PM

Jane Bunnett & Maqueque

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 16, 8:00 PM

Tony Craddock, Jr. & Cold Front Album Release Concert

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 17, 8:00 PM

Celebrate St. Patricks Day "O'Malley's March"

Get Tickets →

Thu, March 22, 8:00 PM

Ronnie Laws

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 23, 8:00 PM

STONE SOUL PICNIC W/ SOUL CRACKERS & THE TEXAS CHAINSAW HORNS

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 24, 8:00 PM

Be'la Dona's Spring Jam

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 25, 1:00 PM

Norman Connors & Starship Orchestra presents Sunday Brunch

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 25, 7:00 PM

Phaze II with Matthew Whitaker Celebrating 20 Years

Get Tickets →

Thu, March 29, 8:00 PM

Corcoran Holt CD Release Concert

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 30, 8:00 PM

Algebra Blessett

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 6, 8:00 PM

Billy Price Band w/Special Guest Johnny Rawls: Soul-Blues Summit

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 8, 7:30 PM

Nothing But The Sax

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 14, 8:00 PM

The Blackbyrds

Get Tickets →

Thu, April 19, 8:00 PM

Jazzy Blu

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 20, 8:00 PM

Luther's Birthday Celebration

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 27, 8:00 PM

Conya Doss feat Lin Rountree

Get Tickets →