Fri Aug 25

Root Boy Slim All Stars

Fri, August 25
8PM / $25
Choose Seats
Bethesda Blues & Jazz Supper Club

7719 Wisconsin Avenue
Bethesda, MD 20814

Root Boy Slim All Stars

“While the artist known as Root Boy Slim, Foster MacKenzie III, departed this world entirely too soon at the age of 48, he left us with a highly entertaining and weird catalog to remember him by… If you are not aware of Root Boy Slim, then you probably didn’t come of age in the late 70s and early 80s in the Washington, D.C. area where MacKenzie was/is pretty much a folk hero. Do you remember the guy who tried to scale the fence at the White House in 1969 who claimed to be searching for the “center of the universe” while tripping balls on acid? That was Foster MacKenzie III.” - dangerousminds.net

“The hippest thing to happen in Washington since Nixon resigned.”  - Rolling Stone

“Root Boy, however unsomber, is the real thing, the genuine apocalyptic apotheosis.” - The Washington Post

“Howlin’ Wolf Meets Alfred E. Newman” - Joe Sasfy, Unicorn Times

Following last year’s sold out performance, the Root Boy Slim All Stars return to Bethesda Blues & Jazz with “Mood Music for the Nuclear Age”.  A  rock solid 12 piece outfit culled from all of the kickass bands that Root toured and recorded with for over 15 years, including most of the surviving members of the Sex Change Band. The Root Boy Slim All Stars features Tommy Lepson belting out lead vocals with his big B3, sax virtuosos Ron Holloway and Marshall Keys (the Jones Boys Horns), Dan Hovey and Ray Tilkens shredding on guitars, Brent Mingle on bass, Jim Orr on keyboards, pounding percussion by Torro Gamble, John Zidar and “Kung Fu Shorty” Albert Bashor, and of course backing vocals by the fabulous Rootettes - Cherie Grasso and Dick Bangham!

PLUS a sneak peak at the new official trailer for the documentary-in-progress “Boogie Til You Puke: The Legend of Root Boy Slim”.

“Mood Music for the Nuclear Age” is a night of musical mayhem from the deliriously deranged and demented mind of Root Boy Slim - guaranteed to raise your spirits to near toxic levels and make your mood rings sweat!

Fri, August 25

8PM / $25
Choose Seats
Upcoming Events

Fri, July 28, 8:00 PM

Suttle

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 29, 8:00 PM

Sugar Bear's Birthday Celebration with EU

Get Tickets →

Sun, July 30, 7:30 PM

Secret Society

Get Tickets →

Wed, August 2, 8:00 PM

Geno Marriott & The Spirit of Jazz

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 3, 8:00 PM

Girlfriend in a Coma & N.E.W. athens

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 4, 8:00 PM

"Louis Armstrong Birthday Celebration" feat. Tom Williams & Sharon Clarke

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 5, 10:00 PM

D&D & Kala Productions presents QbanFest celebrating 15th Anniversary

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 6, 3:00 PM

A Drag Salute to Divas : Dreamgirls Twisted

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 6, 8:00 PM

A Drag Salute to Divas : Dreamgirls Twisted

Get Tickets →

Wed, August 9, 8:00 PM

A Tribute to the Music of "Whitney Houston" Birthday Celebration

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 10, 7:30 PM

The Nighthawks and Soul Crackers in a Summer Soul Picnic

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 11, 8:00 PM

Duke Ellington Orchestra

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 12, 7:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 12, 10:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Wed, August 16, 8:00 PM

ABBA - The Concert

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 17, 8:00 PM

B.J. Jansen & Common Ground Feat: Delfeayo Marsalis, Ralph Peterson

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 18, 8:00 PM

The Admirals

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 19, 7:00 PM

STOKELY of Mint Condition

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 20, 7:30 PM

Selina Albright & Steve Cole

Get Tickets →

Wed, August 23, 8:00 PM

Billy Joel Tribute Show, The Stranger

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 24, 8:00 PM

Shanice

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 26, 10:59 PM

Private Event

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 27, 8:00 PM

KEITH BUSEY'S "70'S BEST SHOW"

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 31, 8:00 PM

March Fourth, plus DJ Cobrawolfshark

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 2, 8:00 PM

Jeff Bradshaw Birthday Celebration feat. Algebra Blessett & Glenn Lewis

Get Tickets →

Sun, September 3, 7:00 PM

Ohio Players, Labor Day Weekend Party

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 8, 8:00 PM

Pablo Cruise

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 9, 8:00 PM

Ethiopian New Year w/ Yehunie Belay

Get Tickets →

Sun, September 10, 7:30 PM

Nothing But The Sax feat. Tony Exum Jr., Dee Lucas & Marqueal Jordan

Get Tickets →

Thu, September 14, 8:00 PM

Bob Baldwin featuring Lori Williams

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 15, 8:00 PM

A Tribute to the Music of Motown

Get Tickets →