Fri May 19

LAUREL CANYON

Fri, May 19
8PM / $25
Choose Seats
Bethesda Blues & Jazz Supper Club

7719 Wisconsin Avenue
Bethesda, MD 20814

LAUREL CANYON

 

NEWMYER FLYER PRESENTS:

LAUREL CANYON: GOLDEN SONGS OF LOS ANGELES 1966-72

Music Of: THE BYRDS, MAMAS & PAPAS , BUFFALO SPRINGFIELD, JONI MITCHELL, CROSBY, STILLS, & NASH, THE BEACH BOYS, LINDA RONSTADT, CAROLE KING, THE DOORS, JACKSON BROWNE, & more

PERFORMANCES BY: MARGOT MACDONALD, LUKE BRINDLEY, THE SWEATER SET,  THE HUMMINGBYRDS,  ANDY ZIPF,  FLO ANITO, LORI WILLIAMS,  TIMMIE METZ,  ROBBIE COOPER,                  GREG HARDIN, DAVE YLVISAKER, DAVE EGELHOFER,  MIKE MILLS,  EDDIE HARTNESS, CHUCK SULLIVAN, BRIAN GODDARD, MATT SPIELMAN, ELIZABETH LADEMAN & BUDDY GRIFFIN

BETHESDA BLUES & JAZZ FRIDAY MAY 19, 2017 8 pm

The legendary music scene found in Los Angeles and its neighboring magic-struck neighborhood,      Laurel Canyon, are the focus of this new show from Newmyer Flyer.  Celebrating the musical brilliance of more than a dozen legendary bands and performers who lived and made their music in and around L.A.  “Laurel Canyon: Golden Songs of Los Angeles” features a dream lineup of some of the D.C. area’s most accomplished and exciting young artists.  Catch them together in this extraordinary show as they take on a treasure trove of great songs including ; So You Want To Be A Rock & Roll Star, For What It’s Worth, California Dreaming,  Carry On, Doctor My Eyes,  God Only Knows & other classics from the era.

The heart of the Laurel Canyon sound encompasses such harmony driven bands as Buffalo Springfield, The Mamas & Papas, and Crosby, Stills & Nash as well as  the startling creativity of Joni Mitchell,            The Byrds, and Love as well as the noir-ish sounds of The Doors.. As the 60’s turned into the 70’s, the Laurel Canyon sound ruled the worlds airwaves, and is most associated with singer- songwriters like Joni Mitchell, Carole King, & Jackson Browne.  Laurel Canyon’s long history as a home to emerging artists continues today, but perhaps was never as ascendant or as charmed, as in the mid to late 60’s.  Laurel Canyon: Golden Songs of Los Angeles 1966-72 will carry you back to that time, and take you on a starlit journey, as we dive deep into some of the greatest popular music ever made.   

Watch Video

Fri, May 19

8PM / $25
Choose Seats
Upcoming Events

Thu, March 23, 8:00 PM

Clarence Carter with special guest Charlie Owen & Pocket Change

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 24, 8:00 PM

Newmyer Flyer Presents - Dream Discs: "Layla" & Other Assorted Eric Clapton

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 25, 7:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 25, 10:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 26, 7:30 PM

DC Street Corner Harmony-The Clovers, The Spaniels and The Jewels

Get Tickets →

Tue, March 28, 8:00 PM

Angie Stone

Get Tickets →

Wed, March 29, 8:00 PM

Angie Stone

Get Tickets →

Thu, March 30, 8:00 PM

The Alvin Fisher Band

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 31, 8:00 PM

A Tribute To The Music of Phyllis Hyman

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 1, 8:00 PM

Marion Meadows Smooth Jazz Saxophonist

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 2, 1:00 PM

Rat Pack Together Again - Tony Sands Production

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 2, 7:30 PM

Rat Pack Together Again - Tony Sands Production

Get Tickets →

Wed, April 5, 8:00 PM

Merle Haggard Tribute

Get Tickets →

Thu, April 6, 8:00 PM

Gino Vannelli

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 7, 8:00 PM

Gino Vannelli

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 9, 7:30 PM

Elan Trotman & Brian Simpson

Get Tickets →

Tue, April 11, 8:00 PM

Edwin Ortiz y La Mafia Del Guaguanco

Get Tickets →

Wed, April 12, 8:00 PM

The Tony Martucci Quintent featuring Ingrid Jensen

Get Tickets →

Thu, April 13, 8:00 PM

Let It Flow Band

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 14, 8:00 PM

An Evening with Jesse Colin Young and Band

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 15, 8:00 PM

Soul Crackers

Get Tickets →

Wed, April 19, 8:00 PM

Oscar Peterson Tribute featuring Lenore Raphael Quartet

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 21, 8:00 PM

Luther Re-Lives

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 23, 7:00 PM

The Psalm Full Of Soul Project

Get Tickets →

Tue, April 25, 8:00 PM

Edwin Ortiz y La Mafia Del Guaguanco

Get Tickets →

Wed, April 26, 8:00 PM

Cyrus Chestnut

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 28, 8:00 PM

Chopteeth Afrofunk Big Band

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 29, 7:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 29, 10:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 30, 7:30 PM

Conya Doss

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 4, 8:00 PM

Shanice

Get Tickets →