Thu Aug 23

Allegra Levy

Thu, August 23
10PM / $10
Get Tickets
Twins Jazz

1344 U. St. NW
Washington, DC 20009

Allegra Levy

“Most jazz vocalists sing standards. Allegra Levy writes her own. From the plaintive title track of her debut album, LONELY CITY, to the haunting strains of her second CD, CITIES BETWEEN US, the 28-year-old singer-songwriter has penned a collection of harmonically adventurous-yet-familiar originals steeped in the tradition of the Great American Songbook.

"Fresh... exotic... and far beyond the ordinary," said  The New York Times  of her first CD, from SteepleChase Lookout.

“If Allegra Levy is not yet on every jazz listener’s radar, this new album should rectify the situation,” said JazzHistoryOnline of her sophomore outing on SteepleChase Records.

Now Levy is ready to release her first album of familiar songs, and not just any songs; all are tunes about the moon. Offering a fresh take on everything from “Moon River” to Neil Young’s “Harvest Moon,” LOOKING AT THE MOON is sure to have everyone over the moon about this rising young singer, dubbed a "double-barreled talent" by  JazzTimes.

A Connecticut native based in New York, Levy is known for her rich, sweet, yet swinging alto and for writing catchy, emotive songs. Her new CD, due out in June 2018 from SteepleChase Records, features Carmen Staaf on piano, Alex Goodman on guitar, and Tim Norton on bass. It also offers a bright, new sound, the kind that only comes around once in a blue moon.”

 

Thu, August 23

10PM / $10
Get Tickets
Upcoming Events

Fri, July 20, 9:00 PM

Project Natale

Get Tickets →

Fri, July 20, 11:00 PM

Project Natale

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 21, 9:00 PM

Project Natale

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 21, 11:00 PM

Project Natale

Get Tickets →

Sun, July 22, 8:00 PM

Daniel Blake

Get Tickets →

Sun, July 22, 10:00 PM

Daniel Blake

Get Tickets →

Wed, July 25, 8:00 PM

Joe Vetter Quartet

Get Tickets →

Wed, July 25, 10:00 PM

Joe Vetter Quartet

Get Tickets →

Thu, July 26, 8:00 PM

Nick Di Maria

Get Tickets →

Thu, July 26, 10:00 PM

Nick Di Maria

Get Tickets →

Fri, July 27, 9:00 PM

Kenny Rittenhouse

Get Tickets →

Fri, July 27, 11:00 PM

Kenny Rittenhouse

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 28, 9:00 PM

Kenny Rittenhouse

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 28, 11:00 PM

Kenny Rittenhouse

Get Tickets →

Sun, July 29, 8:00 PM

Tyrone Allen

Get Tickets →

Sun, July 29, 10:00 PM

Tyrone Allen

Get Tickets →

Wed, August 1, 8:00 PM

5th Avenue

Get Tickets →

Wed, August 1, 10:00 PM

5th Avenue

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 2, 8:00 PM

Julian Berkowitz

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 2, 10:00 PM

Julian Berkowitz

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 3, 9:00 PM

Walt Weiskopf Quartet

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 3, 11:00 PM

Walt Weiskopf Quartet

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 4, 9:00 PM

Walt Weiskopf Quartet

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 4, 11:00 PM

Walt Weiskopf Quartet

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 5, 8:00 PM

Max Light

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 5, 10:00 PM

Max Light

Get Tickets →

Wed, August 8, 8:00 PM

James Collins

Get Tickets →

Wed, August 8, 10:00 PM

James Collins

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 9, 8:00 PM

THE TWINS JAZZ ORCHESTRA

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 9, 10:00 PM

THE TWINS JAZZ ORCHESTRA

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 10, 9:00 PM

Cheyney Thomas

Get Tickets →