Sat Sep 22

Clarence Ward III

Sat, September 22
11PM / $15
Get Tickets
Twins Jazz

1344 U. St. NW
Washington, DC 20009

Clarence Ward III

Baltimore hottest trumpeter, Clarence Ward III leads some of the finest ensembles to be heard on the East Coast. He is a major and deeply respected figure in Charm City, commanding respect from fellow musicians, students and jazz fans. When he steps onstage, it is only a matter of time before sparks will be flying! 

Ward’s “old school” training and extensive gigging and touring experience have given him the chops and vision to soar as a performer and bandleader. He currently plays sax, trumpet and flugelhorn and his heartfelt style is reminiscent of Roy Hargrove. One of Baltimore’s most inspiring jam session leaders, he is also lighting fires under the next generation of musicians and vocalists.

Mentored by award-winning educator Charles Funn, Ward attended Paul Laurence Dunbar High School, learning “the history of jazz on the saxophone.” He won numerous awards in high school and a scholarship to University of Maryland, Eastern Shore. After a stint in the Army, he represented UMES at two IAJE festivals, giving him the opportunity to record with Jimmy Cobb.  He has toured extensively and worked with such diverse artists as Gladys Knight, Nancy Wilson, Aretha Franklin and R&B soul singer Ledisi and jazz greats Stanley Turrentine, Gary Bartz, Robert Glasper, Dennis Chambers and Tim Warfield.

Sat, September 22

11PM / $15
Get Tickets
Upcoming Events

Wed, August 15, 8:00 PM

Marty Nau

Get Tickets →

Wed, August 15, 10:00 PM

Marty Nau

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 16, 8:00 PM

Annapolis Jazztet

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 16, 10:00 PM

Annapolis Jazztet

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 17, 9:00 PM

Carol Morgan

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 17, 11:00 PM

Carol Morgan

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 18, 9:00 PM

Carol Morgan

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 18, 11:00 PM

Carol Morgan

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 19, 4:00 PM

William Hooker

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 19, 8:00 PM

Theljon Allen/ Brandon Woody Chordless 4tet

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 19, 10:00 PM

Theljon Allen/ Brandon Woody Chordless 4tet

Get Tickets →

Wed, August 22, 8:00 PM

Dale Corn

Get Tickets →

Wed, August 22, 10:00 PM

Dale Corn

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 23, 8:00 PM

Allegra Levy

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 23, 10:00 PM

Allegra Levy

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 24, 9:00 PM

Ron Sutton, Jr.

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 24, 11:00 PM

Ron Sutton, Jr.

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 25, 9:00 PM

Ron Sutton, Jr.

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 25, 11:00 PM

Ron Sutton, Jr.

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 26, 8:00 PM

Brad Linde's Therapy Band II

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 26, 10:00 PM

Brad Linde's Therapy Band II

Get Tickets →

Wed, August 29, 8:00 PM

Shannon Gunn

Get Tickets →

Wed, August 29, 10:00 PM

Shannon Gunn

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 30, 8:00 PM

The Voyage

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 30, 10:00 PM

The Voyage

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 31, 9:00 PM

Thad Wilson

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 31, 11:00 PM

Thad Wilson

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 1, 9:00 PM

Thad Wilson

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 1, 11:00 PM

Thad Wilson

Get Tickets →

Wed, September 5, 8:00 PM

Sirintip

Get Tickets →

Wed, September 5, 10:00 PM

Sirintip

Get Tickets →