Thu Aug 31

March Fourth, plus DJ Cobrawolfshark

Thu, August 31
8PM / $25
Choose Seats
Bethesda Blues & Jazz Supper Club

7719 Wisconsin Avenue
Bethesda, MD 20814

MARCHFOURTH

"How do I describe this group? A sweaty, beautiful, chaotic, organized, hyper-realized, super-tight, fever-dream of a monster that defies categorization and pumps out so much beat and rhythm that the venue should soon call in a structural engineer because the roof was nearly blown clean off!" -Yale Cohn, Little Village Magazine 

"Could it be that MarchFourth! isn't a band from Portland, Oregon, but is, in fact, an alien invasion? Because their show is out-of-this-world AMAZING!" -Scott Hopkins, 

“You could call MarchFourth a Vaudeville circus, or a sexy carnivalesque sideshow of animalistic proportions where all sense of decorum is beaten into submission. I call it a panoply for the senses, a celebratory feast of friends, a visually stunning performance that sears itself into your brain.” Mike Greenblatt, The Aquarian.

March Fourth

MarchFourth is a joy-inducing force of entertainment. The colorful explosion of brassy funk, rock, and
jazz is all about the groove. This larger-than-life group of musicians and acrobats tours the country
year-round, bringing a spirit of celebration wherever they go. MarchFourth is, in a word, FUN!


With exceptional musical quality and a visual kaleidoscope of performers, MarchFourth is a
spectacle of high-energy compositions, colorful costumes, and irresistible charisma! M4 has been
seen on stages from ESPN’s Espy Awards to festivals like Wakarusa, Bumbershoot, and High Sierra
Music Fest, to world-class venues like The Kennedy Center and The Fillmore, and even a cultural
exchange tour to China, sponsored by the US State Department.


MarchFourth’s track “Gospel” (from their self-released album Rise Up, 2009) was featured as the
closing credits theme song in the Disney/Pixar animated film, Monster’s University. Their next album
Magnificent Beast was self-released in 2011, produced by fellow Portlander Steve Berlin (Los
Lobos).
 

For their most recent album, Magic Number, fifteen MarchFourth musicians traveled from Portland,
Oregon to New Orleans, Louisiana to record with Producer Ben Ellman (Galactic) and
Engineer/Producer Mikael “Count” Eldridge (DJ Shadow, Tycho, Trombone Shorty). With local talent
at the helm, the album is full of the captivating grooves and brassy swagger you’d expect from
MarchFourth, plus a healthy dose of New Orleans magic, with guest appearance by Trombone
Shorty, Stanton Moore (drums), and Matt Perrine (sousaphone).


“Perfectly merging the artistic spirit of Portland with the musical spectacle of New Orleans,
MarchFourth put on one of the most complete shows of any band on any stage. From rocking big
band jam tunes, choreography and feats of strength that need to be seen to be believed,
MarchFourth entertains on every level every second they are on the stage…or off!” ~Live for Live
Music


“From the first note to the last, the sound was pumping and the fun never stopped… It’s worth noting
that there are serious musicians behind all the fun. It’s obvious these guys (and gals) have had lots
of training and formal practice. Talented band geeks turned rebels.” ~USAToday


“Just when you think you’ve heard it all, suddenly a band crosses paths with your ears and changes
everything… Full of auditory goodness...” ~NYS Music
“Mighty, Explosive, Carnivalesque Brass Band Funk” ~New York Music Daily

and DJ Cobrawolfshark

https://cobrawolfshark.bandcamp.com/

 

Visit Website
Watch Video

Thu, August 31

8PM / $25
Choose Seats
Upcoming Events

Wed, August 23, 8:00 PM

Billy Joel Tribute Show, The Stranger

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 24, 8:00 PM

Shanice

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 25, 8:00 PM

Root Boy Slim All Stars

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 26, 10:59 PM

Private Event

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 27, 8:00 PM

KEITH BUSEY'S "70'S BEST SHOW"

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 1, 8:00 PM

Clones of Funk

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 2, 8:00 PM

Jeff Bradshaw Birthday Celebration feat. Algebra Blessett & Glenn Lewis

Get Tickets →

Sun, September 3, 7:00 PM

Ohio Players, Labor Day Weekend Party

Get Tickets →

Sun, September 3, 10:00 PM

Ohio Players, Labor Day Weekend Party

Get Tickets →

Wed, September 6, 7:30 PM

Daryl Davis Presents: Labor Day Extended Dance Party with SANDRA DEAN

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 8, 8:00 PM

Pablo Cruise

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 9, 8:00 PM

Ethiopian New Year w/ Yehunie Belay

Get Tickets →

Sun, September 10, 7:30 PM

Nothing But The Sax feat. Tony Exum Jr., Dee Lucas & Marqueal Jordan

Get Tickets →

Thu, September 14, 8:00 PM

Bob Baldwin featuring Lori Williams

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 15, 8:00 PM

A Tribute to the Music of Motown

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 16, 7:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 16, 10:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sun, September 17, 7:30 PM

Soul Revival

Get Tickets →

Wed, September 20, 8:00 PM

Mycah Chevalier:A celebration of life & preview new CD The Creole Butterfly

Get Tickets →

Thu, September 21, 8:00 PM

Michael Henderson & Cherrelle - Starship Landing

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 23, 8:00 PM

Be'la Dona

Get Tickets →

Sun, September 24, 7:30 PM

A Tribute to the Music of The O'Jays featuring FOREVER YOURS

Get Tickets →

Wed, September 27, 8:00 PM

CoCo Montoya

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 29, 8:00 PM

Dexter Wansel Presents Sounds Of Philadelphia

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 30, 8:00 PM

Roy Buchanan Tribute

Get Tickets →

Thu, October 5, 8:00 PM

Drew Davidsen

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 6, 8:00 PM

Miriamm Wright, EPW Breast Cancer Foundation

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 7, 8:00 PM

John Lennon Birthday Tribute

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 13, 7:00 PM

Incognito

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 13, 10:00 PM

Incognito

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 20, 8:00 PM

Wayne Linsey Howard Homecoming Concert

Get Tickets →