Fri Jan 26

"Into the Great Wide Open" Tom Petty Tribute

Fri, January 26
8PM / $20
Get Tickets
Bethesda Blues & Jazz Supper Club

7719 Wisconsin Avenue
Bethesda, MD 20814

Tom Petty Tribute

TOM PETTY – INTO THE GREAT WIDE OPEN 
 

For Tom Petty, the simplicity of rock and roll was its very sanctity. It was the most effective way for this golden haired, snaggle toothed kid from Gainesville to evoke the purest feelings in life: the giddiness of being in love, the pedal-down buzz of speeding down the highway, the wetness of Louisiana rain through the shoes. He wrote his lyrics to be heard not read. He composed his chords to be felt rather than savored. He had a purity of spirit and down-home honesty that made you feel like he was just a handshake away from becoming your best friend. 
 

Not surprisingly, Petty’s songs opened a lot of hearts, across generations and even continents. To date, he has sold more than 80 million records worldwide, making him one of the best-selling pop musicians of all time. That is why, so many of us felt a sucker punch to the heart when he died. 
 

Warren Zane, one of Petty’s biographers, wrote: “On the music side, the results were pretty straightforward: in a culture of argument and friendships lost because you couldn’t see eye to eye on what acts meant the most, Petty was the guy most everybody agreed on.”


At a time when the political environment has become so toxic, there is something almost reverential about celebrating the things that we do share. That makes Tom Petty’s music – and its ability to bring so many diverse people together – feel even more timely and essential than ever. 


Over one evening of music selected from virtually every corner of Petty’s songbook, you will see and hear the deep talent and diversity of Washington-based musicians whose lives were touched by this quintessentially American musician. They include David Kitchen, Cal Everett, Todd Wright, Hayley Fahey, Heather Aubrey Lloyd, Tommy Gann Jonathan Sloane, Holly Montgomery, Sean Chyun, Dan Hovey, Jack O’Dell, Desson Thomson, Jon Combs, Ariel Francis, El Torro Gamble, Mark Williams, Ian Burke and Wes Lanich. 


Their message will be simple: Tom Petty’s music mattered then, it matters now, and it will help carry us forward into the great wide open of the American future.   

Fri, January 26

8PM / $20
Get Tickets
Upcoming Events

Thu, January 18, 8:00 PM

Vanessa Collier

Get Tickets →

Fri, January 19, 8:00 PM

Suttle

Get Tickets →

Sat, January 20, 10:59 PM

PRIVATE EVENT

Get Tickets →

Sun, January 21, 7:30 PM

The Ladies of Rhythm & Blues

Get Tickets →

Tue, January 23, 8:00 PM

Igor Butman Quintet

Get Tickets →

Thu, January 25, 8:00 PM

The Ron Holloway Band and Revelator Hill

Get Tickets →

Sat, January 27, 10:59 PM

PRIVATE EVENT

Get Tickets →

Sun, January 28, 7:30 PM

Smokey Robinson Tribute with SIXX Sings Band

Get Tickets →

Wed, January 31, 8:00 PM

José André Montaño

Get Tickets →

Thu, February 1, 8:00 PM

Tribute to Steely Dan featuring Hey Nineteen

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 2, 8:00 PM

Jon B

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 3, 7:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 3, 10:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sun, February 4, 1:00 PM

Super Bowl Drag Brunch

Get Tickets →

Mon, February 5, 7:30 PM

DC Black History Month Concert Celebrating DC Musicians

Get Tickets →

Tue, February 6, 8:00 PM

Bob Marley "One Love" Birthday Bash with I&I Riddim

Get Tickets →

Thu, February 8, 8:00 PM

Thad Wilson Jazz Orchestra's 20th Anniversary Celebration w/Russell Malone

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 9, 8:00 PM

Daryl Davis Presents: Thanks For The Memories 2017

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 10, 10:59 PM

PRIVATE EVENT

Get Tickets →

Sun, February 11, 7:30 PM

KEITH 'SHOWTIME" BUSEY's 70's BEST / PRE-VALENTINE DAY SHOW

Get Tickets →

Tue, February 13, 8:00 PM

Jeff Bradshaw & Friends "A LOVE SUPREME" w/ Avant & Maimouna Youssef

Get Tickets →

Wed, February 14, 11:00 AM

PRIVATE EVENT

Get Tickets →

Wed, February 14, 8:00 PM

Jeff Bradshaw & Friends "A LOVE SUPREME" w/ Avant & Maimouna Youssef

Get Tickets →

Thu, February 15, 8:00 PM

The Spinners

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 16, 8:00 PM

The Spinners

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 17, 8:00 PM

Syleena Johnson

Get Tickets →

Sun, February 18, 7:00 PM

Buddy Holly Tribute

Get Tickets →

Thu, February 22, 10:59 PM

PRIVATE EVENT

Get Tickets →

Sun, February 25, 7:30 PM

Band Of Roses

Get Tickets →

Wed, February 28, 8:00 PM

Billy Ocean Celebrates BBJ's 5th Anniversary Hosted By Joe Clair

Get Tickets →

Thu, March 1, 8:00 PM

Billy Ocean Celebrates BBJ's 5th Anniversary Hosted By Joe Clair

Get Tickets →