Tue Aug 28

Nate Hook Standards Sextet

Tue, August 28
8PM / $10 - $12
Get Tickets
An die Musik Live!

409 N. Charles St.
Baltimore, MD 21201

Nate Hook/Theljon Allen

Nate Hook, sax
Theljon Allen, trumpet
Chris Barrick, vibes
Savino Palumbo, piano
Mikel Combs, bass
Dan Monaghan, drums

Born and raised in Texas, Nate Hook’s music embodies the full tone and rich creativity of great horn players from the Lone Star State.  Playing saxophone and piano as a youngster, he learned from the top musicians in the Austin community, including Justin Vasquez, Jeff Helmer, Paul White, Tony Campise, and Alex Bohrer, and performed with groups at the University of Texas, The Elephant Room, and other venues.  Nate moved from Texas and into the East Coast jazz world when he attended William Paterson University, where he studied with Vincent Herring, Harold Mabern, Bill Mobley, and Bill Goodwin, among others.

By 2012, Nate was performing around NYC at locales like Smalls, Smoke, The Lenox Lounge, The Zinc Bar, The Stone, and others.  Living in NYC, he also had the opportunity to perform alongside Jean Michel Pilc, Carlo De Rosa, Bill Goodwin, and others.  In 2013, he started the band “Progressive Overload,” which will release their first album in the fall of 2016. As a resident of Baltimore, Nate studied with Gary Thomas and earned a performance degree from the Peabody Conservatory.  He has worked in recent years with Ralph Peterson, Alex Norris, Paul Bollenback, and Bob Butta, just to name a few.  In the spring of 2016, Nate played bass clarinet in Gary Thomas’ “Pariah’s Pariahs” ensemble, a recording of which will be available later this year.

$12 in advance/$15 at door/$10 full-time student with ID

Visit Website

Tue, August 28

8PM / $10 - $12
Get Tickets
Upcoming Events

Tue, August 14, 8:00 PM

Afro Yaqui Music Collective

Get Tickets →

Tue, August 14, 9:30 PM

Afro Yaqui Music Collective

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 16, 8:00 PM

Andreas Arnold Flamenco Jazz Trio

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 16, 9:30 PM

Andreas Arnold Flamenco Jazz Trio

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 17, 8:00 PM

Paul Carr Quartet featuring legendary drummer Lewis Nash

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 17, 9:30 PM

Paul Carr Quartet featuring legendary drummer Lewis Nash

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 18, 8:00 PM

Subhi: Hindi Pop Jazz Singer/Songwriter/Musician

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 18, 9:30 PM

Subhi: Hindi Pop Jazz Singer/Songwriter/Musician

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 19, 6:00 PM

Fruition Yellowjackets Tribute

Get Tickets →

Mon, August 20, 7:30 PM

Monday Jazz Jam hosted by Alex Meadow and Joshua Espinoza

Get Tickets →

Tue, August 21, 8:00 PM

Mughal Muesli

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 23, 8:00 PM

Secret Mall

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 23, 9:30 PM

Secret Mall

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 24, 8:00 PM

Tamm E Hunt & Her Band

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 24, 9:30 PM

Tamm E Hunt & Her Band

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 25, 8:00 PM

Mark Gross Quartet + Strings

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 25, 9:30 PM

Mark Gross Quartet + Strings

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 26, 5:00 PM

Tribute to Jobim

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 26, 7:00 PM

Tribute to Jobim

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 31, 8:00 PM

Billy Wolfe and Leo Maxey's MW9 featuring Gary Thomas

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 31, 9:30 PM

Billy Wolfe and Leo Maxey's MW9 featuring Gary Thomas

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 1, 7:30 PM

Folkal Point: Howard Markman & Acoustic Palookaville

Get Tickets →

Mon, September 3, 7:30 PM

Monday Jazz Jam hosted by Alex Meadow and Joshua Espinoza

Get Tickets →

Tue, September 4, 8:00 PM

Mike Gary Quartet Monthly Tuesday Series

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 7, 8:00 PM

We Three Annual Concert -- Mark Whitfield, John Lamkin III & Kris Funn

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 7, 9:30 PM

We Three Annual Concert -- Mark Whitfield, John Lamkin III & Kris Funn

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 8, 8:00 PM

Classical Guitarist Ana Vidovic - Annual Concert

Get Tickets →

Mon, September 10, 7:00 PM

Dunbar Alumni Jazz Band - Monthly Mondays

Get Tickets →

Thu, September 13, 8:00 PM

Mark Turner / Ethan Iverson: Temporary Kings

Get Tickets →

Thu, September 13, 9:30 PM

Mark Turner / Ethan Iverson: Temporary Kings

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 14, 8:00 PM

Phil Thomas Quintet

Get Tickets →