Fri Feb 9

Norman Connors

Fri, February 9
8PM / $40
Get Tickets
Nighttown

12387 Cedar Road
Cleveland Heights, OH 44106

Norman Connors

Special Pre-Valentine's Weekend at Nighttown with Legendary Drummer and Producer Norman Connors and his Group back at Nighttown!   

Playing all of his hits including "You Are My Starship", "Valentine Love", 'Betcha My Golly Wow", & more!

Like Roy Ayers, George Benson, and Patrice Rushen, Norman Connors is best known for his major RB hits but started out as a jazz improviser.  The drummer/composer was born and raised in Philadelphia, where he lived in the same neighborhood as Bill Cosby and became interested in jazz when he was only a child. Connors was in junior high when he began sneaking into jazz clubs and sat in for Elvin Jones at a John Coltrane gig.

Connors went on to study music at Philly's Temple University and the Juilliard School of Music in New York. Gigs with Jackie McLean, Jack McDuff and Sam Rivers followed, and he was first recorded as a sideman when Archie Shepp employed him on his 1967 Impulse session Magic of JuJu.

After touring with Pharoah Sanders and playing on several of his albums, Connors signed with Buddah's Cobblestone label in 1972 and recorded his first album as a leader, Dance of Magic. A few more jazz-oriented Cobblestone and Buddah dates followed, and it was in 1975 that Connors made R&B his main priority with Saturday Night Special (which included the number ten soul hit "Valentine Love"). The rest of the 1970s found Connors featuring R&B singers prominently (including Michael Henderson, Jean Carn, and the late Phyllis Hyman) and scoring such R&B hits as "We Both Need Each Other," "Once I've Been There," and the lovely "You Are My Starship."

Currently Norman Connors is touring in support of his latest CD "Star Power" on Shanachie records.  He will be featuring his six piece touring group and promises to perform all of his classic hits.

Don't miss legendary drummer, producer, and vocalist Norman Connors for a special engagement in the intimate Music Room of Nighttown.

 

Visit Website
Watch Video

Fri, February 9

8PM / $40
Get Tickets

No need to make an additional table reservation - it's already included with these concert tickets!! You are buying tickets that are not refundable or exchangeable. Please review our additional terms and conditions.

Upcoming Events

Wed, January 17, 7:00 PM

Diego Figueiredo

Get Tickets →

Fri, January 19, 6:00 PM

A Hot Night of Cool Jazz - Pops Benefit Concert

Get Tickets →

Fri, January 19, 8:30 PM

Charles Walker Band

Get Tickets →

Sat, January 20, 8:00 PM

Stanley Jordan

Get Tickets →

Sat, January 20, 10:00 PM

Stanley Jordan

Get Tickets →

Mon, January 22, 7:00 PM

Deconstructing Stephen Sondheim's Merrily We Roll Along

Get Tickets →

Fri, January 26, 8:30 PM

Harmonia

Get Tickets →

Sat, January 27, 8:30 PM

Evelyn Wright

Get Tickets →

Thu, February 1, 7:30 PM

Eileen Burns "At the Movies"

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 2, 8:30 PM

Vladimir Cetkar

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 3, 8:30 PM

Tony Monaco Trio

Get Tickets →

Sun, February 4, 12:30 PM

Apollo Fire's Sneak Peaks - Sunday Brunch Events for the Curious

Get Tickets →

Thu, February 8, 8:00 PM

Elijah Rock

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 9, 10:00 PM

Norman Connors

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 10, 8:00 PM

Norman Connors

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 10, 10:00 PM

Norman Connors

Get Tickets →

Sun, February 11, 7:00 PM

Charlie Mosbrook & Friends

Get Tickets →

Tue, February 13, 7:00 PM

Hubb's Groove Pre-Valentine's Celebration

Get Tickets →

Wed, February 14, 7:00 PM

Nicki Parrott Trio

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 16, 8:30 PM

Chuchito Valdes

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 17, 8:30 PM

Chuchito Valdes

Get Tickets →