Thu Aug 30

Chris Thomas King

Thu, August 30
10PM / $25
Get Tickets
Blues Alley

1073 Wisconsin Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20007

Chris Thomas King

Chris Thomas King is a New Orleans Grammy Award-winning musician and actor who is initially known for his audacious fusion of blues and hip-hop. King reached a whole new audience with his film debut in the Coen Brothers film, O Brother, Where Art Thou?, not only appearing on the award-winning soundtrack, but establishing himself as a serious dramatic actor as well.

Initially known for his audacious fusion of blues and hip-hop, Chris Thomas King reached a whole new audience with the Coen Brothers film O Brother, Where Art Thou?, not only appearing on the award-winning soundtrack but playing a prominent supporting character as well. Despite the much-celebrated, down-to-earth rootsiness of O Brother's music, King had previously been a determined progressive, hoping to reinvigorate the blues as a living African American art with a more contemporary approach and adamantly refusing to treat it as a museum piece whose "authentic" forms needed careful preservation. King eventually modified that approach to a certain degree, attempting to create a more explicit link between blues tradition and the general musical present.

Visit Website
Watch Video

Thu, August 30

10PM / $25
Get Tickets

*Please note:
1. Final sale, no refunds, not transferable.
2. $12 food/beverage minimum per person not included in ticket price.
3. Seating first come at the door. Doors open at the earliest of 6 PM & 9:45 PM respectively.
4. Photography or Recording of any kind is prohibited during the performance.
5. Keep conversation to a minimum during the performance.

Upcoming Events

Tue, August 14, 8:00 PM

Tygressa sings Natalie

Get Tickets →

Tue, August 14, 10:00 PM

Tygressa sings Natalie

Get Tickets →

Wed, August 15, 8:00 PM

Tim Whalen Quintet

Get Tickets →

Wed, August 15, 10:00 PM

Tim Whalen Quintet

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 16, 8:00 PM

Loston Harris

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 16, 10:00 PM

Loston Harris

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 17, 8:00 PM

Melba Moore

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 17, 10:00 PM

Melba Moore

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 18, 8:00 PM

Melba Moore

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 18, 10:00 PM

Melba Moore

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 19, 8:00 PM

Melba Moore

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 19, 10:00 PM

Melba Moore

Get Tickets →

Mon, August 20, 8:00 PM

Anthony Pirog Trio

Get Tickets →

Mon, August 20, 10:00 PM

Anthony Pirog Trio

Get Tickets →

Tue, August 21, 8:00 PM

Strength & Power Band

Get Tickets →

Tue, August 21, 10:00 PM

Strength & Power Band

Get Tickets →

Wed, August 22, 8:00 PM

Chris Urquiaga "I'm Here" CD Release Party

Get Tickets →

Wed, August 22, 10:00 PM

Chris Urquiaga "I'm Here" CD Release Party

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 23, 8:00 PM

Cyrus Chestnut

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 23, 10:00 PM

Cyrus Chestnut

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 24, 8:00 PM

Cyrus Chestnut

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 24, 10:00 PM

Cyrus Chestnut

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 25, 8:00 PM

Cyrus Chestnut

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 25, 10:00 PM

Cyrus Chestnut

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 26, 8:00 PM

Cyrus Chestnut

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 26, 10:00 PM

Cyrus Chestnut

Get Tickets →

Mon, August 27, 8:00 PM

CLOSED

Get Tickets →

Tue, August 28, 8:00 PM

CLOSED

Get Tickets →

Wed, August 29, 8:00 PM

CLOSED

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 30, 8:00 PM

Chris Thomas King

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 31, 8:00 PM

Chris Thomas King

Get Tickets →