Sat Aug 19

STOKELY of Mint Condition

Sat, August 19
7PM / $50 - $60
Choose Seats
Bethesda Blues & Jazz Supper Club

7719 Wisconsin Avenue
Bethesda, MD 20814

STOKELY of Mint Condition

Stokley needs no introduction. The GRAMMY-nominated vocalist, songwriter, producer, and multi-instrumentalist is known best as the lead singer and drummer for legendary R&B group Mint Condition. As such, he has crisscrossed the globe, touring with luminaries like Prince, Whitney Houston, Janet Jackson, and Alicia Keys. 

The world knows Stokley’s enduring collaborations. His 2011 effort with Kelly Price, "Not My Daddy,” earned a GRAMMY nomination. The TV performances alongside Jimmy Fallon and Conan O’Brien and awards shows such as BET Honors and the AMAs. His film scores and catalogue of studio work, a veritable who’s who: Mariah Carey, Usher, Mary J. Blige, and Jill Scott.

After over two decades as the lead vocalist for the incomparable hit-making R&B band Mint Condition, singer and two-time GRAMMY Award nominee Stokley charters a new course with his breathtaking debut solo album "Introducing Stokley." featuring guest appearances by the likes of GRAMMY-winning jazz pianist Robert Glasper and Estelle as well as some production from multi-platinum duo Carvin Haggins & Ivan Barias, Introducing

Stokley is a refreshing artistic statement rooted in the soul music tradition from one of R&B’s most remarkable voices.  Hailing from the Minnesota twin cites of Minneapolis and St. Paul, Stokley was reared in a family that fostered a deep devotion to musical and cultural expression.  Surrounded by acts like The Time, The Jets and the omnipresent
Prince and the Revolution, he began earning his stripes as a drummer and vocalist.
In the mid 1980s, Stokley became a founding member of what was the genesis of Mint Condition.  After several years of gigs and paid dues, the band cross paths with  multiplatinum producers and hometown heroes Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis. 

Fresh off the success of Janet Jackson’s Rhythm Nation 1814 album, Jam & Lewis recruited Mint Condition to their label’s roster and released their debut Meant to Be Mint in 1991.

The group soon found success in their now-classic single “Breakin’ My Heart (Pretty Brown Eyes" which was was certified gold. In 1993, the band 's sophomore effort "From the Mint Factory" featured the lead single “U Send Me Swingin’” which hit #2 on the Billboard R&B chart. Continuing their winning streak, Mint Condition released Definition of a Band three years later containing the Billboard Top 40 hit “What Kind of Man Would I Be,” which was also certified gold. Definition of a Band would also become the group’s first gold certified album. Mint Condition signed with Elektra Records and released their fourth effort, Life’s Aquarium. The album produced yet another Billboard Top 40 hit for the group
in the form of “If You Love Me.”

Watch Video

Sat, August 19

7PM / $50 - $60
Choose Seats
Upcoming Events

Fri, July 28, 8:00 PM

Suttle

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 29, 8:00 PM

Sugar Bear's Birthday Celebration with EU

Get Tickets →

Sun, July 30, 7:30 PM

Secret Society

Get Tickets →

Wed, August 2, 8:00 PM

Geno Marriott & The Spirit of Jazz

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 3, 8:00 PM

Girlfriend in a Coma & N.E.W. athens

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 4, 8:00 PM

"Louis Armstrong Birthday Celebration" feat. Tom Williams & Sharon Clarke

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 5, 10:00 PM

D&D & Kala Productions presents QbanFest celebrating 15th Anniversary

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 6, 3:00 PM

A Drag Salute to Divas : Dreamgirls Twisted

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 6, 8:00 PM

A Drag Salute to Divas : Dreamgirls Twisted

Get Tickets →

Wed, August 9, 8:00 PM

A Tribute to the Music of "Whitney Houston" Birthday Celebration

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 10, 7:30 PM

The Nighthawks and Soul Crackers in a Summer Soul Picnic

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 11, 8:00 PM

Duke Ellington Orchestra

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 12, 7:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 12, 10:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Wed, August 16, 8:00 PM

ABBA - The Concert

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 17, 8:00 PM

B.J. Jansen & Common Ground Feat: Delfeayo Marsalis, Ralph Peterson

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 18, 8:00 PM

The Admirals

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 20, 7:30 PM

Selina Albright & Steve Cole

Get Tickets →

Wed, August 23, 8:00 PM

Billy Joel Tribute Show, The Stranger

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 24, 8:00 PM

Shanice

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 25, 8:00 PM

Root Boy Slim All Stars

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 26, 10:59 PM

Private Event

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 27, 8:00 PM

KEITH BUSEY'S "70'S BEST SHOW"

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 31, 8:00 PM

March Fourth, plus DJ Cobrawolfshark

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 2, 8:00 PM

Jeff Bradshaw Birthday Celebration feat. Algebra Blessett & Glenn Lewis

Get Tickets →

Sun, September 3, 7:00 PM

Ohio Players, Labor Day Weekend Party

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 8, 8:00 PM

Pablo Cruise

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 9, 8:00 PM

Ethiopian New Year w/ Yehunie Belay

Get Tickets →

Sun, September 10, 7:30 PM

Nothing But The Sax feat. Tony Exum Jr., Dee Lucas & Marqueal Jordan

Get Tickets →

Thu, September 14, 8:00 PM

Bob Baldwin featuring Lori Williams

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 15, 8:00 PM

A Tribute to the Music of Motown

Get Tickets →