Sat May 20

DUO Stephanie and Saar The Art of Fugue CD Release Concert

Sat, May 20
2PM / $10 - $15
Buy Tickets
An die Musik Live!

409 N. Charles St.
Baltimore, MD 21201

DUO Stephanie and Saar

“ Their (DUO Stephanie and Saar) wide ranging repertoire and intellectual curiosity is extraordinary” – Musical America

DUO Stephanie & Saar’s upcoming release on New Focus Recordings, The Art of Fugue, is the
first ever complete piano duo recording of Johann Sebastian Bach’s enigmatic final work.
For this special CD release concert, the New York based and Peabody trained international
piano duo will perform the work live at An die Musik.

Dated 1748, some scholars see The Art of Fugue as an academic endeavor by an aging master
paying tribute to the fugue, which was by then falling out of fashion. Others consider the work
as a sort of “Da Vinci Code” of numerology, puzzles and musical coding. The mystery of
Contrapunctus 14, notable for both the inclusion of Bach’s name as a theme and for its
unfinished state adds to the mythology and cult status that surrounds the work.
Bach found fugues to be a source of endless creativity. The Art of Fugue, a collection of
fourteen fugues and four canons, is an exploration of the full spectrum of contrapuntal
possibilities, all derived from one monolithic theme in D minor. From a purely technical
standpoint, Bach’s compositional prowess is in full display as he employs inversion, retrograde,
augmentation, diminution, multiple fugue subjects, mirroring and canonic writing - all while
creating an intense and emotionally gripping musical experience.

Tickets: $15 in advance/$18 at door/$10 full-time student with ID

Visit Website

Sat, May 20

2PM / $10 - $15
Buy Tickets
Upcoming Events

Sat, April 29, 8:00 PM

Eric Person TrioKinesis

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 29, 9:30 PM

Eric Person TrioKinesis

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 30, 1:30 PM

Daniel Schwait Homecoming Concert: Still Too Young

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 30, 5:00 PM

Bright Moments Septet

Get Tickets →

Tue, May 2, 8:00 PM

Marbin

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 4, 8:00 PM

Nate Hook/Theljon Allen Band

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 4, 9:30 PM

Nate Hook/Theljon Allen Band

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 5, 8:00 PM

Debut performance of Pipa virtuoso Xiaofen Min & Friends

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 6, 2:00 PM

Messiaen's Harawi

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 6, 8:00 PM

Folkal Point: Birdhouse with Skribe

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 7, 5:00 PM

Alan MacEwan & James Von Lenz: Roots Cafe Singer-Songwriter Series

Get Tickets →

Mon, May 8, 7:30 PM

Monday Jazz Jam hosted by Alex Meadow and Joshua Espinoza

Get Tickets →

Tue, May 9, 7:00 PM

Evolution Contemporary Music Series: Julia Wolfe

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 11, 8:00 PM

Double Bill: Allison Dietz & Naked Blue

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 12, 8:00 PM

The Music of Clifford Jordan

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 12, 9:30 PM

The Music of Clifford Jordan

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 13, 8:00 PM

We Three: Mark Whitfield, John Lamkin & Kris Funn

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 13, 9:30 PM

We Three: Mark Whitfield, John Lamkin & Kris Funn

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 14, 5:00 PM

Mother's Day Tribute to Ella

Get Tickets →

Mon, May 15, 7:00 PM

Dunbar Alumni Jazz Band - Monthly Mondays

Get Tickets →

Tue, May 16, 7:30 PM

Peabody Jazz Students, Alumni & Friends

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 18, 8:00 PM

Alex Brown Trio featuring Victor Provost

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 18, 9:30 PM

Alex Brown Trio featuring Victor Provost

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 19, 8:00 PM

Simona Premazzi Trio "Outspoken"

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 19, 9:30 PM

Simona Premazzi Trio "Outspoken"

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 20, 8:00 PM

Walt Weiskopf 4tet

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 20, 9:30 PM

Walt Weiskopf 4tet

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 21, 3:30 PM

Oboe/Piano Recital to Benefit Baltimore School for the Arts

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 21, 7:00 PM

Sophia Subbayya Vastek Album Release Concert

Get Tickets →

Mon, May 22, 7:30 PM

Monday Jazz Jam hosted by Alex Meadow and Joshua Espinoza

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 25, 8:00 PM

B. Woody Upendo 5tet

Get Tickets →