Wed May 31

Edwin Ortiz y La Mafia Del Guaguanco

Wed, May 31
8PM / $10
Choose Seats
Bethesda Blues & Jazz Supper Club

7719 Wisconsin Avenue
Bethesda, MD 20814

Edwin Ortiz y La Mafia Del Guaguanco

Edwin Ortiz y La Mafia Del Guaguanco

A ten piece Salsa Orchestra with a 32 year history in the Washington, D.C. metro area.  Formerly known as Orquesta La Romana, on its 30th anniversary, band leader Edwin Ortiz officially changed the name to Edwin Ortiz y La Mafia Del Guaguanco.  Known for its hard hitting classic salsa sound, La Mafia Del Guaguanco is often compared to the very best orchestras in New York City and Puerto Rico.  Staying true to the root of salsa the band has done shows in every major venuein the DC Metro area and has been instrumental in representing latin music at many major festivals in the area.  As Orquesta La Romana, the band performed at the very first Taste of DC Festival. The band was also the first local salsa band to perform at the Kennedy Center and at the Strathmore in Rockville, Maryland.  The band has often been chosen to perform as the back up band to major salsa artists when in DC.  These artists include Jerry Rivera, Lalo Rodriguez, Oscar D’Leon to name a few.   Also, opening shows and sharing the stage with the likes of Eddie Palmieri and his Orchestra and The Tito Puente Orchestra.  In the early 2000’s, the band was chosen as the backup orchestra for Tito Puente, Jr. for shows and performances from DC to New York, keeping alive the music of the King of Latin Music himself, Tito Puente, Sr.  Edwin Ortiz y La Mafia Del Guaguanco is the dancers choice.

Wed, May 31

8PM / $10
Choose Seats
Upcoming Events

Wed, April 26, 8:00 PM

Cyrus Chestnut

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 28, 8:00 PM

Chopteeth Afrofunk Big Band

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 29, 7:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 29, 10:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 30, 7:30 PM

Conya Doss

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 4, 8:00 PM

Edwin Ortiz y La Mafia Del Guaguanco

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 5, 8:00 PM

Motown & More

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 6, 8:00 PM

The Chuck Brown Band

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 7, 3:00 PM

Salute to the Divas

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 7, 8:00 PM

Salute To The Divas

Get Tickets →

Tue, May 9, 8:00 PM

Edwin Ortiz y La Mafia Del Guaguanco

Get Tickets →

Wed, May 10, 8:00 PM

Israeli Jazz Pianist Tamir Hendelman

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 11, 8:00 PM

The Impressions

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 14, 1:00 PM

After 7 - Mothers Day

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 14, 7:00 PM

After 7 - Mothers Day

Get Tickets →

Wed, May 17, 8:00 PM

The Cookers

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 19, 8:00 PM

Newmyer Flyer presents Laurel Canyon: Golden Songs of Los Angeles 1966-72

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 21, 7:30 PM

The Persuaders - Thin Line Between Love & Hate

Get Tickets →

Wed, May 24, 7:00 PM

The Vocal Workshop Showcase

Get Tickets →

Wed, May 24, 9:00 PM

The Vocal Workshop Showcase

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 25, 8:00 PM

Roy Ayers with Special Guest Carolyn Malachi

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 26, 8:00 PM

Roy Ayers with Special Guest Carolyn Malachi

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 27, 8:00 PM

Be'la Dona

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 28, 7:00 PM

ConFunkShun

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 28, 10:00 PM

ConFunkShun

Get Tickets →

Tue, May 30, 8:00 PM

A Tribute to the Music of Alexander O'Neal Feat. Keith Soul

Get Tickets →

Thu, June 1, 8:00 PM

Michael Henderson & Cherrelle - Starship Landing

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 3, 8:00 PM

THE WANNA BEATLES plus VI-Kings

Get Tickets →

Wed, June 7, 8:00 PM

Prince Tribute Show

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 9, 8:00 PM

Wayna

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 11, 8:00 PM

Leonard, Coleman & Blunt

Get Tickets →