Wed May 31

Edwin Ortiz y La Mafia Del Guaguanco

Wed, May 31
8PM / $10
Choose Seats
Bethesda Blues & Jazz Supper Club

7719 Wisconsin Avenue
Bethesda, MD 20814

Edwin Ortiz y La Mafia Del Guaguanco

Edwin Ortiz y La Mafia Del Guaguanco

A ten piece Salsa Orchestra with a 32 year history in the Washington, D.C. metro area.  Formerly known as Orquesta La Romana, on its 30th anniversary, band leader Edwin Ortiz officially changed the name to Edwin Ortiz y La Mafia Del Guaguanco.  Known for its hard hitting classic salsa sound, La Mafia Del Guaguanco is often compared to the very best orchestras in New York City and Puerto Rico.  Staying true to the root of salsa the band has done shows in every major venuein the DC Metro area and has been instrumental in representing latin music at many major festivals in the area.  As Orquesta La Romana, the band performed at the very first Taste of DC Festival. The band was also the first local salsa band to perform at the Kennedy Center and at the Strathmore in Rockville, Maryland.  The band has often been chosen to perform as the back up band to major salsa artists when in DC.  These artists include Jerry Rivera, Lalo Rodriguez, Oscar D’Leon to name a few.   Also, opening shows and sharing the stage with the likes of Eddie Palmieri and his Orchestra and The Tito Puente Orchestra.  In the early 2000’s, the band was chosen as the backup orchestra for Tito Puente, Jr. for shows and performances from DC to New York, keeping alive the music of the King of Latin Music himself, Tito Puente, Sr.  Edwin Ortiz y La Mafia Del Guaguanco is the dancers choice.

Wed, May 31

8PM / $10
Choose Seats
Upcoming Events

Thu, May 25, 8:00 PM

Roy Ayers with Special Guest Carolyn Malachi

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 26, 8:00 PM

Roy Ayers with Special Guest Carolyn Malachi

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 27, 8:00 PM

Be'la Dona

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 28, 7:00 PM

ConFunkShun

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 28, 10:00 PM

ConFunkShun

Get Tickets →

Tue, May 30, 8:00 PM

A Tribute to the Music of Alexander O'Neal Feat. Keith Soul

Get Tickets →

Thu, June 1, 8:00 PM

Michael Henderson & Cherrelle - Starship Landing

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 2, 8:00 PM

The Fabulous Hubcaps

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 3, 8:00 PM

THE WANNA BEATLES plus VI-Kings

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 4, 7:00 PM

Jesse Garrons Tribute to Elvis

Get Tickets →

Wed, June 7, 8:00 PM

Prince Tribute Show

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 9, 8:00 PM

Wayna

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 11, 8:00 PM

My Time To Shine:LCB's All Star Birthday Party for Glenn Leonard &Joe Blunt

Get Tickets →

Wed, June 14, 8:00 PM

Tony Craddock Jr. & Cold Front

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 16, 8:00 PM

In Gratitude: A Tribute to Earth, Wind & Fire

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 17, 7:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 17, 10:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 18, 1:00 PM

Lenny Williams - Fathers Day Brunch

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 18, 7:00 PM

Lenny Williams

Get Tickets →

Thu, June 22, 8:00 PM

Raul Midon

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 23, 8:00 PM

Soul Crackers

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 24, 8:00 PM

TESTIMONY UNPLUGGED...An Intimate Evening with Tyra Levone

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 25, 7:30 PM

Nick Colionne

Get Tickets →

Thu, June 29, 8:00 PM

Deanna Bogart Band Reunion w/Kajun Kelley, Eric Scott and Mike Aubin

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 30, 8:00 PM

A TRIBUTE TO THE FUNK BANDS

Get Tickets →

Mon, July 3, 8:00 PM

Daryl Davis Presents: WE ARE, BECAUSE, HE WAS - A Tribute To Chuck Berry

Get Tickets →

Fri, July 7, 7:30 PM

VIP Summer White Affair feat. Gerald Veasley, Cindy Bradley & Matthew

Get Tickets →

Sun, July 9, 2:00 PM

Sunday Jazz Brunch featuring Howard Hewett

Get Tickets →

Sun, July 9, 7:00 PM

Grand Finale Jam Session

Get Tickets →

Thu, July 13, 8:00 PM

Michael Muse and The Walker Redds Project

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 15, 8:00 PM

Eric Roberson

Get Tickets →